Bruins Win Opener, Beat Cal Poly 7-4 In Game One

Jan. 29, 2005

Box Score

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - First-year head coach John Savage and the 2005 UCLA Baseball team wasted no time getting on the winning track as they defeated No. 38 Cal Poly 7-4 Saturday afternoon in game one of a today's doubleheader. Hector Ambriz guided the Bruins with five solid innings on the mound and a monsterous 4-for-4 day at the plate, including three doubles and two RBI.

Daniel Miltenberger (1-0) picked up the victory for UCLA after taking over in the sixth inning and tossing 2.1 effective innings out of the bullpen. Jimmy Shull (0-1) suffered the defeat for Cal Poly. Bruin right-hander Adam Simon picked up the save, the seventh of his career, with 1.1 perfect innings to close the game.

UCLA used a four-run sixth inning to cement the victory, highlighted by Ambriz' two-RBI double which gave UCLA the lead for good. The Bruins used two unearned runs in the first to take an early lead but Cal Poly charged back with two in the fourth and one in the fifth to take a 3-2 lead. The Bruins tied it in their half of the fifth on a Brett McMillan RBI single.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS