Bruin Men's Soccer Team Earns 1-0 Overtime Victory Over Stanford

Nov. 4, 2005

Box Score

Stanford, CA - The seventh-ranked UCLA men's soccer team downed Stanford, 1-0, in overtime to record its sixth consecutive and 13th overall shutout on Friday evening at Maloney Field in Stanford. Freshman forward Maxwell Griffin scored the game-winning goal at 91:56 off a rebound from three yards out. Patrick Ianni and Jordan Harvey were credited with the assists.

Bruin goalkeeper Eric Reed once again earned the shutout, making four saves on six Stanford shots. The Bruins had 10 shots in the game, including five on goal. Stanford's Andrew Kartunen made four saves. UCLA extended its shutout streak to six games and 662 minutes.

The Bruins improve their record to 11-3-2, 6-1-1 in the Pac-10. Stanford falls to 4-10-2, 1-6-1.

With the win, the Bruins are now in a position to clinch the Pac-10 title on Sunday with a win or tie over California. That match will take place at 2 pm at Edwards Stadium in Berkeley.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO
Sunday, Dec 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO