Big Innings Give UCLA 17-6 Victory Over Cal State Northridge

Feb. 1, 2003

Final Stats

The Bruins rebounded from a 8-6 opening day loss in a big way, handing Cal State Northridge a 17-6 defeat today at Jackie Robinson Stadium in front of 590 fans.

UCLA scored seven runs in the bottom of the second and seven more in the bottom of the seventh to carry it to victory. Center fielder Matt Thayer went three-for-three, scoring four runs and knocking in one. Catcher Chris Denove also added to the Bruin arsenal, going three-for-four with two RBI and two runs scored.

Even at 1-1, the Bruins caught fire in the second inning when singles from Chris Jensen and Sean Carpenter and Preston Griffin being hit by a pitch loaded the bases for Thayer with no outs. He brought Jensen in with a single. After a failed bunt attempt from Ryan McCarthy, Wes Whisler was issued a walk, which brought Griffin across the plate. Casey Janssen also walked after a pop up from Billy Susdorf and crossed the plate with Whisler after Jensen's double in his second at-bat of the inning.

After four consecutive innings without a run, the Bruins came alive again in the seventh with seven more runs. Carpenter reached first on a fielder's choice and Thayer was intentionally walked with one out. The Matadors intentionally walked Whisler after McCarthy grounded out to load the bases for Susdorf. The Newhall native crushed a single down the right field line to bring in two runs and start the rally. Once again, a Matador wild pitch advanced the runners and walks to Janssen and Denove continued to bring runs across home plate.

Senior co-captain Mike Kunes earned the win, lasting five innings and allowing only one earned run on eight hits. Freshman right-hander Adam Simon picked up the first save of his collegiate career giving up three runs on five hits in four innings.

The teams will wrap up the series tomorrow in a 1:00 match-up at Matador Stadium.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS