Bruins Down No. 4 LSU 7-0, Win UNLV Classic Tournament Title

Feb. 17, 2002

Final Stats

LAS VEGAS - The second-ranked UCLA softball team improved its record to 14-0 on Sunday afternoon at the Desert Breeze Softball Complex, defeating No. 4 LSU by a score of 7-0. Amanda Freed earned the pitching victory for the Bruins, improving her season record to 7-0 and capping off a weekend in which she hit .688 (11-for-16) in tournament play. UCLA and Cal both went undefeated at the UNLV Classic, but the Bruins won the tournament title based on run differential.

For the first two innings, it was a very close contest as All-American pitchers Freed and LSU's Brittany Sneed dominated. In the top of the third inning, the Bruins provided a taste of what was to come when Freed and Nuveman both hit long fly balls that would have easily cleared the outfield fence had a 30-mph wind not been blowing straight in from center field. Instead, both balls were outfield fly-outs.

LSU had a runner get around to third base in the bottom of the fourth inning, one of just three times in the game that the Tigers would have runners in scoring position.

The top of the fifth inning started with a one-out single by Stephanie Ramos, followed by a bunt single by left fielder Erin Rahn. That was the start of a string of five straight singles by the Bruins, which turned into three runs as UCLA batted around in the inning.

UCLA opened the sixth with a single by Claire Sua. Pinch-runner Monique Mejia was advanced to second on a sacrifice by Toria Auelua, and went to third on a single by Rahn. Mejia would score on a single up the middle by shortstop Natasha Watley, the first of four runs to score in the inning. LSU starter Brittany Sneed was chased from the game after Amanda Freed's single scored the second run of the inning. She allowed 12 hits in 5-2/3 innings, and was responsible for all seven of UCLA's runs.

Freed pitched five innings for the Bruins, striking out five and walking one while allowing just three hits. She improves to 7-0 for the 2002 season. For the UNLV Classic, Freed was 3-0 with wins over No. 4 LSU, No. 13 Nebraska and No. 12 Alabama. She had 16 strikeouts in 17 innings in the circle. Offensively, she was by far the Bruins top hitter, going 11-for-16 at the plate for a .688 average, scoring 10 runs with one double, one triple, one home run and seven RBI to go along with a 1.063 slugging percentage and a .737 on-base percentage and three stolen bases.

UCLA returns to action on Wednesday afternoon, returning home for a single game against UC Riverside at Easton Stadium. The Bruins will then travel to Mayfair Park in Long Beach, CA, for a Saturday doubleheader against Long Beach State.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 1 - 8
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1 (9)
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1
Thursday, Jun 02 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Auburn
Oklahoma City, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS