Men's Basketball Awards Announced
April 8, 1998

LOS ANGELES -- UCLA's senior trio--J. R. Henderson, Toby Bailey and Kris Johnson--, Wednesday received the Coach John Wooden Award as the Most Valuable Players on this year's men's basketball team at the Bruin Hoopsters' annual banquet at the Beverly Hilton. Henderson was the team's leading scorer (19.0) and rebounder (7.8), Johnson was the second-leading scorer (18.4) and led the Bruins in Pac-10 scoring with a 21.1 average and Bailey was the third-leading scorer (17.9) and second-leading rebounder (5.9). Henderson, a Wooden Award finalist, and Bailey were AP honorable mention All-Americans and both earned first-team All-Pacific-10 honors. Johnson was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 choice.

Johnson was the only multiple award winner, also getting the Bob "Ace" Calkins Trophy as the team's top free throw shooter (83.3).

1998 UCLA Basketball Bruin Hoopsters' Banquet Award Winners

Bob "Ace" Calkins Memorial Trophy-
presented to the team free throw champion
Kris Johnson

Elvin C. "Ducky" Drake Memorial Award-
for competitive spirit, inspiration and unselfish contribution
Rico Hines

Bruin Hoopsters J. D. Morgan Memorial Award-
for outstanding team play
Vince McGautha

UCLA Alumni Association Award-
for academic achievement and team contribution
Matt Harbour

Bruin Bench Basketball Award-
for most improvement in all-around play and mental attitude
Travis Reed

Seymour Armond Memorial Award-
for most valuable freshman player
Baron Davis

Irv Pohlmeyer Memorial Trophy-
for outstanding defensive player
Earl Watson

Coach John Wooden Award-
for most valuable player
J. R. Henderson, Kris Johnson, Toby Bailey

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA