Don't have an account? Click Here
Water Polo NCAA Champs

Kern Wins First Annual Peter J. Cutino Award
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  01/25/2000

Jan. 25, 2000

LOS ANGELES - UCLA men's water polo player Sean Kern has been named the first-ever male recipient of the Peter J. Cutino Award, an honor intended to be water polo's equivalent of football's Heisman Trophy.

Kern (Honolulu, Hawai'i/Punahou HS), a junior, received the award at a ceremony held at the Olympic Club in San Francisco Saturday, Jan. 22. Bernice Orwig of USC was honored as the top female water polo player. UCLA Senior Matt Armato (Long Beach, Calif./Wilson HS) was also one of the five finalists for the award, while Stanford's Brian Heifferon was the runner-up.

Kern, the current NCAA Player of the Year and a three-time All-American, helped lead the Bruins to the 1999 men's water polo national championship this past December. He was named the NCAA tournament's most valuable player after scoring four crucial points in each of the Bruins' games vs. Massachusetts (semifinal) and Stanford (final). He also earned Mountain Pacific Sports Federation first-team all-conference honors and was named to the MPSF All-Tournament team. Kern led the Bruins in scoring this year with a career-high 55 points.

Check out
Sean's Bruin Profile!

The Cutino award was created in the name of former Cal and Olympic Club coach Pete Cutino and was voted upon by a distinguished panel of collegiate coaches.

Top Five Outstanding Male and Female Collegiate Water Polo Players:

Men Women
1. Sean Kern, UCLA 1. Bernice Orwig, USC
2. Brian Heifferon, Stanford 2. Heather Crary, Stanford
3. Matt Armato, UCLA 3. Aniko Pelle, USC
4. Allan Basso, USC4. Katie Grogan, UMass
5. Taj Jensen, University of Redlands 5. Teri Lawson, University of Redlands

‹ UCLA Men's Water Polo

*UCLA Retro Basketball T-Shirt- White 
Price: $24.00
UCLA Women's Basketball Pink Jersey #10 Current: $100