Bruins Can't Duck Oregon In Second Half

Jan. 26, 2002

Box Score

Eugene, Ore. - The UCLA women's basketball team led Oregon at the half but could not hold on in the second half, as the Ducks rallied to win, 76-54.

Oregon jumped out to an early 10-2 lead before the Bruins reeled off seven straight points to cut the margin to one point. UCLA took its first lead of the game with 15 seconds to play in the half on a Whitney Jones jumper, giving the Bruins a 27-26 halftime lead.

The lead fluctuated a few times early in the second half. After a Shalada Allen jumper made it 47-45 Oregon with 10:45 to play, the Ducks went on an 11-0 run to make the score 58-45 with 6:56 to go. UCLA never got closer than 10 points after that.

Natalie Nakase led the Bruins with 14 points and eight assists. She also had six rebounds. Also scoring in double figures were Jones with 12 points and five steals and Allen with 10 points and a team-high seven rebounds.

Oregon's Shaquala Williams led all players with 23 points. Cathrine Kraayeveld had a double-double with 16 points and 14 rebounds.

Oregon improves its record to 12-8, 7-4 in the Pac-10. UCLA drops to 5-14, 2-9.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 01
vs. Vanguard
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
W, 68 - 57
Saturday, Nov 28
vs. Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
L, 84 - 92 (OT)
Saturday, Dec 05 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 13 - 11:00 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, Dec 16 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 18 - 7:05 PM PST
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
Monday, Dec 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Dec 28 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
Wednesday, Dec 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 02 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 10 - 6:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - 6:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 17 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Jan 22 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Feb 05 - 5:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Feb 26 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA