Cheney Lifts Bruins Past Cal State Northridge, 1-0

Sept. 15, 2006

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - Freshman forward Lauren Cheney broke up a scoreless tie in the 63rd minute, helping the fourth-ranked UCLA women's soccer team to a 1-0 victory over Cal State Northridge at Drake Stadium on Friday evening. With the win, UCLA extends its winning streak to six in a row, improving to 6-1 overall. Cal State Northridge falls to 4-4 with the loss.

Cheney, who has scored in all three matches that she has appeared in this season, scored off a misplayed ball by Matador goalkeeper Kellie Drenner at the 62:17 mark of the second half. Freshman defender Lauren Wilmoth played a long ball into the box that was unsuccessfully cleared by Drenner, who came off her line to challenge it. The ball bounced free and skipped across the front of the box, where Cheney ran onto it before burying it from about six yards out.

UCLA, which dominated much of the play, outshot the Matadors 18-4 on the evening. The Bruins also had an excellent scoring opportunity in the first half when Christina DiMartino's shot bounced off the bottom of the crossbar and straight down before being saved.

Bruin goalkeeper Valerie Henderson made two saves on the evening, one of which came on a potential tying goal with just seconds remaining in the match. Matador midfielder Susie Mischenko attempted to head in a cross driven in from the right side, however Henderson was positioned perfectly and made an effortless save to secure the UCLA victory. Drenner finished with a match-high four saves for Cal State Northridge.

Friday marked the first meeting between the two Southern California schools since a 4-0 UCLA victory back in 2002.

Next up for UCLA will be a showdown with third-ranked Santa Clara on Friday at 8:00 p.m. That match is at Santa Clara's Buck Shaw Stadium.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2