NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Two Bruins Named To U.S. Olympic Men's Water Polo Team

Aug. 10, 2000

LOS ANGELES, Calif. -- Two Bruins have been named to the U.S. Olympic Men's Water Polo team, announced on Wednesday. Sean Kern (Honolulu, HI) and Dan Hackett (Irvine, CA) will be representing the United States in Sydney.

Kern, the 1999 Men's Water Polo player of the year and first-team All-American, led the Bruins to an NCAA Championship last fall, but will miss the beginning of his senior season to compete in Sydney. Last season, Kern was named the first ever recipient of the Peter J. Cutino Award, an honor intended to be water polo's equivalent of football's Heisman Trophy, after leading the Bruins in scoring with a career-high 55 points. He was the NCAA Tournament's Most Valuable Player after scoring a total of eight goals in two games, including four of UCLA's six goals in the 6-5 victory over Stanford to win the championship.

Hackett (1988-91) has been a goalkeeper on the US National Team since 1991, and competed in the 1996 Olympics. While at UCLA, Hackett earned All-American honors in 1990 and 1991 and helped guide the Bruins to a runner-up finish in 1991. Last weekend, Hackett was named the Most Outstanding Goalkeeper at the Italian Trophy Tournament. Over four games in the net for the U.S., Hackett amassed 38 saves, averaging 9.5 per game. He had a pair of 12 save games, collecting eight and six in the other two.

The complete team follows:

Tony Azevedo

Gavin Arroyo

Ryan Bailey

Dan Hackett

Chris Humbert

Chi Kredell

Sean Kern

Kyle Kopp

Robert Lynn

Sean Nolan

Chris Oeding

Brad Schumacher

Wolf Wigo

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events