No. 3 Bruins Defeat Washington, 5-2

April 12, 2002

Results

Seattle - The No. 3-ranked UCLA men's tennis team snapped its two-match losing streak Friday, registering a 5-2 decision over the University of Washington at the Nordstrom Tennis Center. UCLA's record is now 17-3 overall and 4-0 in Pac-10 play.

The Bruins dominated doubles play, taking all three matches to claim the one point awarded in doubles action. In singles, the Bruins received singles victories from Tobias Clemens, Marcin Matkowski, Erfan Djahangiri and Lassi Ketola.

Clemens, who has been UCLA's No. 1 player for most of the season, improved his record to 28-5 on the year with an impressive, 6-1, 6-1 victory over Matt Hanlin. At No. 3 singles, Matkowski cruised in his match as well, knocking off UW's Christoph Palmanshofer, 6-2, 6-1. In the Nos. 4 and 5 positions, UCLA's Djahangiri and Ketola ended up winning their matches in three sets.

Both Jean-Julien Rojer and Alberto Francis dropped singles matches Friday.

UCLA will be in action again tomorrow, taking on the University of Oregon in Eugene. Match time is scheduled for Noon.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS