Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Three Bruins Selected For Umbro Select College All-Star Classic
By: UCLA Athletics

Dec. 16, 1999

Eighty college seniors, including 49 All-Americans, have been selected to play in the Umbro Select College All-Star Classic on Feb. 3-6, 2000, at Lockhart Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. UCLA seniors Steve Shak (Cerritos, CA), Pete Vagenas (Pasadena, CA) and Sasha Victorine (Corona, CA) are among the players selected.

Selections for the teams, who will play in a pair of East vs. West all-star games Feb. 5 and Feb. 6, were made by a special committee commissioned by the Umbro Select College All-Star Classic, with the help and cooperation of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. This will be the fifth year that Umbro, the international soccer company, will put the spotlight on the top men and women college seniors who have finished their collegiate careers. They will play their finals games during the weekend, as well as try to impress a wide array of coaches and professional team scouts who will be at the event.

The East-West men's game will be played Saturday, Feb. 5 at 6 p.m. That contest will be followed by a special match featuring the hometown Miami Fusion versus the United States U-23 National Team featuring players who are candidates to make the 2000 Olympic soccer team. The East-West women's game will be Sunday at 4:30 p.m., following a nationally televised international match between the U.S. Women's National Team and the national team of Norway at 2 p.m. (ESPN).

Of the 40 players on the men's college roster, 23 were named All-America in 1999. The men's game will also feature nine players from the recently-completed NCAA College Cup (Final Four), including Indiana's Yuri Lavrinenko, who scored the winning goal in the Hoosiers' 1-0 win over Santa Clara in the national championship match.

Other participants from the College Cup include Aleksey Korol from Indiana, Adam Eyre and Eric Denton from Santa Clara, Matt Chavlovich and Luis Aranz from Connecticut and UCLA's Shak, Vagenas and Victorine. Victorine was recently named 1999 Missouri Athletic Club collegiate player of the year.

The women's teams include 26 All-America selections and will feature 12 players that played in the NCAA College Cup including Rebekah McDowell and Lorrie Fair from North Carolina, a 15-time national champion. Fair was also a member of the United States National Team which won the World Cup last summer.

Other College Cup participants include Lakeysia Beene, Jen Grubb, Kara Brown and Jenny Heft from Notre Dame, Penn State's Kelly Convey, as well as Kim Pickup, Kylie Bevins, Nikki Serlenga, Jacqui Little and Mandy Clemens from Santa Clara. Clemens collected both major college player of the year awards, winning the Missouri Athletic Club award and the Hermann Trophy.

Overall, there are 64 NCAA Division I players, six NCAA Division II players, four NCAA Division III players and six NAIA players.

Major League Soccer and the A-League will conduct their college drafts during the event. All 12 MLS teams will begin their preseason training in the Ft. Lauderdale area following the weekend.

Men's East Squad

GK  Matt Chavlovich (Connecticut)
GK  Adin Brown (William and Mary)
D   David Kawesi Mukooza (Wake Forest)
D   Alan Woods (Clemson)
D   Chad Evans (Wake Forest)
D   Michael Dodd (Oakland)
D   Chris Morman (South Carolina)
D   Thorsten Damm (Birmingham Southern)
MF  Daniel Alvarez (Furman)
MF  Danny Parkin (St Johns)
MF  Brian Alvero (South Florida)
MF  Steven Armstrong (Butler)
MF  Jason Cropley (Maryland)
MF  Alejandro Rincon (Southern Connecticut)
MF  Benji Djeukeng (Lindsey Wilson)
F   Kevin Jeffrey (Virginia Commonwealth)
F   Luis Aranz	(Connecticut)
F   Peter Scavo (Seton Hall)
F   Jim Tanner (Old Dominion)
F   Rune Thuestad (West Virginia Wesleyan)

Men's West Squad GK Tom Zawislan (Creighton) GK Jon Conway (Rutgers) D David Wright (Creighton) D Andrew Hemmerich (Stanford) D Adam Eyre (Santa Clara) D Eric Denton (Santa Clara) D Steve Shak (UCLA) D Luc Cesna (Fort Lewis) D Dominic Schell (Mobile) D Lance Key (Trinity) MF Brian O'Connor (San Diego) MF Antonio Martinez (Cal State Fullerton) MF Yuri Lavrinenko (Indiana) MF Pete Vagenas (UCLA) MF Sasha Victorine (UCLA) MF Wes Hart (Washington) F Aleksey Korol (Indiana) F Jeff Dimaria (St Louis) F Peter Byaruhanga (UAB) F Eric Brown (Wheaton)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events