Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Weekly Bruin Profile - Ashley Bowles
By: UCLA Athletics

Ashley Bowles

Sport: Women's Volleyball

Year: Senior
Position: Outside Hitter
Hometown: Manhattan Beach, CA

High School: Mira Costa HS

Past Profiles

* Brandon Kay
* Tairia Mims
* Malika Leatham

* 2000-01 Profiles
* 1999-2000 Profiles

What has been the highlight of your athletic career?
Being the first player ever to be named all-tournament four times at the Hawaiian Airlines Classic

Where was the toughest place you have ever played?
USC North Gym

What was your favorite moment of last season?
When we beat SC at home

Who inspired you to play volleyball?
My father - he would take me out every day and rally with me

What is your favorite sport other than volleyball?
Tennis and football

Do you have any pre-game superstitions?
Wearing my bow

What is the one movie you must have in your movie collection?
Notting Hill

What is the one TV show you can't miss?
Sex and the City

What is your favorite reality show?
Fear Factor - I think it's entertaining to see the gross and outrageous things people will do for money.

What is your favorite genre of music?
70's - for my 21st birthday, my friends and I dressed up in disco theme. We had a blast.

What is your favorite place on campus?
Pauley Pavilion - it's an amazing place to play

What class at UCLA have you liked best?
Political Science 20 - International relations (my current major)

Who do you admire most in life and why?
My brother Brian - he's very inspirational. I've looked up to him my whole life. He has an amazing work ethic and recently made it to the major leagues with the Toronto Blue Jays.

If you could have superpowers, what would they be?
I think I'd like to be invisible (wouldn't that be nice for volleyball purposes!)

If you were granted three wishes, what would they be?
1. To stop aging, 2. To win an NCAA Championship, 3. To become a successful and famous beach volleyball player.

What is the one thing you would not do no matter how much money you were offered?
Hurt my family in some way emotionally or physically

What is your nickname?

If you had one last meal, what would it be?
A chicken burrito and a jar of Skippy peanut butter

What would you never be caught dead wearing?
Teva sandals

What is your worst fear?
Spiders everywhere

What is the best Christmas or birthday present you ever received?
A day at the Ojai spa

What is your favorite childhood memory?
Playing Cabbage Patches with my best friend Ella

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
(25-20, 25-16, 25-13)
Sunday, Sep 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-16, 25-27, 25-17, 28-26)
Friday, Sep 11
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-13, 24-26, 25-21, 25-23)
Saturday, Sep 12
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-20, 25-22, 25-16)
Sunday, Sep 13
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-19, 27-25, 25-23)
Friday, Sep 18
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-23, 25-17, 25-21)
Friday, Sep 18
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-20, 19-25, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Sep 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(22-25, 12-25, 19-25)
Sunday, Sep 27
at California
Berkeley, CA
(25-20, 27-25, 25-16)
Friday, Oct 02
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
(29-31, 16-25, 15-25)
Sunday, Oct 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 25-18, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Dec 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Dec 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Thursday, Dec 17 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE
Saturday, Dec 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE