UCLA's Tennyson Named A Finalist For Hermann Trophy

Aug. 22, 2000

UCLA men's soccer standout McKinley Tennyson Jr. (Indianapolis, IN) has been announced as a finalist for the Hermann Trophy, awarded annually by the National Soccer Hall of Fame to the top collegiate soccer player in the nation.

Tennyson, a 6-2 senior forward, has been one of UCLA's top scorers since his freshman season in 1997. Last year, Tennyson tied for the team and conference lead in goals scored with 12 and ranked second in total points with 31. He has recorded 25 career goals and 68 career points. Tennyson was a second-team all-conference selection in 1999 and a Soccer America All-Freshman selection in 1997. At the 1997 NCAA Semifinals, he scored the game's only goal in the third overtime to defeat Indiana 1-0, and he assisted on the final goal in the championship game to help the Bruins win the NCAA title. His heroics in the tournament earned him Final Four All-Tournament honors.

Collegiate coaches and select media members will vote for the Hermann winners, which will be announced on Saturday, Dec. 9 in Charlotte, NC, in conjunction with the 2000 Men's College Cup. Only one other Bruin has ever won the Hermann Trophy - Brad Friedel in 1992.

The Hermann Trophy is named after Robert R. Hermann of St. Louis, founding chairman of the North American Soccer League. The first Hermann was presented in 1967 to Dov Marcus of Long Island University.

2000 Hermann Trophy Finalists
Carl Bussey, SMU
Conor Casey, Portland
Ali Curtis, Duke
Nick Downing, Maryland
Mohamed Fahim, SMU
Chris Gbandi, UConn
Cory Gibbs, Brown
T.J. Hannig, Indiana
Ryan Mack, Indiana
Kyle Martino, Virginia
Lee Morrison, Stanford
Brent Rahim, UConn
McKinley Tennyson Jr., UCLA
Ryan Trout, Virginia
Ricardo Villar, Penn State

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events