Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Men's Volleyball to Host MPSF Tournament, Apr. 23 & 25
By: UCLA Athletics

April 21, 1998

1998 MPSF Tournament at Pauley Pavilion*

Apr. 23 Semifinals Pepperdine (20-4) vs. Hawaii (23-5), 5 p.m. UCLA (25-3) vs. Long Beach St. (22-6), 7 p.m. Apr. 25 MPSF Championship

*All match times Pacific.

Recent Results Apr. 18 UCLA d. LMU, 3-0 in MPSF Tournament Quarterfinals

Top-ranked UCLA will host the 1998 MPSF men's volleyball tournament this week after advancing with a 3-0 quarterfinal victory over Loyola Marymount Saturday at the John Wooden Center.

Pairings for the MPSF semifinals Thurs., Apr. 23 have second seeded Hawaii (23-5) playing Pepperdine (20-4) at 5 p.m. and top-seeded UCLA (25-3) hosting Long Beach State (22-6) at 7:30 p.m. Winners advance to Saturday's 7 p.m. championship match. All matches will be played in Pauley Pavilion.

The MPSF Tournament winner receives an automatic berth into the 1998 NCAA Tournament, scheduled for Apr. 30 & May 2 at the University of Hawaii. Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Assn. champion Princeton (16-8) and Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Assn. titleist Lewis University (25-8) have already qualified. An NCAA at-large team, to be announced on Apr. 27, will complete the tournament field.

Last Saturday the Bruins defeated Loyola Marymount 15-10, 15-8, 15-2 for the third time this season and the 56th consecutive time overall. Sophomore quick hitter Adam Naeve slammed a team high 16 kills and blocked eight balls. Senior quick hitter Tom Stillwell spiked 13 kills and hit .667.

The Bruins overcame a 0-6 deficit in Game 1 and tied the score at 7-7 before pulling away on kills by junior Fred Robins and sophomore Evan Thatcher.

In Game 2 the Lions saw a 2-0 lead evaporate into a 10-3 deficit as a result of several hitting errors and tough UCLA serving.

In Game 3, the Bruins cruised to a 14-1 advantage as a result of three consecutive aces by sophomore setter Brandon Taliaferro and two straight aces by senior Ben Moselle.

The MPSF announced its 1998 All-Conference Team today and Taliaferro and Naeve were selected to the first team. Moselle earned second team acclaim and Stillwell was a third team selection. Loyola head coach Rick McLaughlin was voted Coach of the Year and Pepperdine's George Roumain and Scott Wong were voted Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Probable Starters:
#3   Brandon Tailaferro, 6-5, So., S, San Clemente, CA (1.1kpg, 17.1apg, 1.8dpg, 0.9bpg)
#14  Fred Robins, 6-6, Jr., OH, Waimanalo, HI (2.5kpg, 2.5dpg, 0.5bpg) OR
#5   Mark Williams, 6-7, Fr., OH, Los Angeles, CA (3.1kpg, 2.1dpg, 0.6bpg)
#17  Tom Stillwell, 6-8, Sr., Q, Northridge, CA (3.6kpg, 1.6dpg, 1.4bpg)
#18  Adam Naeve, 6-10, So., Q, Westchester, CA (5.4kpg, 1.5dpg, 1.2bpg)
#20  Ben Moselle, 6-4, Sr., OH/Op, Encinitas, CA (3.5kpg, 1.9dpg, 0.6bpg) OR
#9   Evan Thatcher, 6-8, So., Op, Encinitas, CA (4.1kpg, 1.5dpg, 0.8bpg)

Substitutions: #15 Danny Farmer, 6-4, Jr., Q, Los Angeles, CA (3.5kpg, 1.2dpg, 0.7bpg) #19 Charlie Jackson, 6-0, Sr., S, Poway, CA (0.3dpg)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-19, 25-27, 13-25)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 20-25, 18-25, 23-25)
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 25-18, 25-22)
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23)
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-16, 22-25, 25-21)
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Long Beach State
Provo, UT
(26-24, 28-26, 25-19)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
(20-25, 19-25, 25-18, 15-25)
Thursday, May 05
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(25-22, 22-25, 21-25, 25-20, 16-18)