No. 3 UCLA Shuts Out No. 12 USC, 7-0

Feb. 1, 2002

Results

Los Angeles - Facing what was supposed to be its first true test of the 2002 campaign, the No. 3 UCLA men's tennis team outlasted cross-town rival USC Friday, registering a 7-0 victory over the No. 12 Trojans at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.

After sweeping all three doubles matches, UCLA (4-0) dropped just one set in singles play, cruising to straight-set victories on five of six courts.

Playing his first match of the year at No. 1 singles, Bruin sophomore Tobias Clemens defeated Andrew Park, 6-3, 6-1. Clemens, who is ranked No. 19 in the country, is on a 13-match winning streak, including three in a row over Park. Before today, he defeated Park in the semifinals of the ITA Regionals in October and in the final of the Southern California Intercollegiates back in November.

At No. 2 singles, junior Rodrigo Grilli breezed past defending Pac-10 singles champion Ryan Moore of USC, registering a 6-1, 6-2 victory in the quickest match of the afternoon. Fellow junior Jean-Julien Rojer was equally impressive at No. 3 singles, downing Trojan freshman Prakash Amritaj, 6-2, 6-2.

Things were a little closer out on the back three courts, however the Bruins still managed to take control. At No. 6 singles, Bruin junior Lassi Ketola outlasted USC's Daniel Langre, 7-5, 6-3. At roughly the same time as that match finished, junior Erfan Djahangiri gave UCLA a 6-0 lead, dispatching of USC's Ruben Torres, 6-4, 6-2 at No. 5 singles.

In the closest match of the afternoon, Bruin sophomore Marcin Matkowski needed three sets to beat Nick Rainey, 6-3, 3-6, 6-2 at No. 4 singles.

Next up for UCLA will be the University of Kentucky on Tuesday, Feb. 5 in Louisville. That match is in preparation for the National Team Indoors, Feb. 7-10, also in Louisville. UCLA is the defending champion.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS