No. 2 Stanford Edges No. 12 UCLA, 1-0

Oct. 13, 2002

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - The No. 12-ranked UCLA women's soccer team was never able to recover from an early Stanford goal Sunday, falling to the second-ranked Cardinal, 1-0 in a Pac-10 Conference match at UCLA's Drake Stadium. With the loss, UCLA falls to 9-3 overall and 1-1 in the Pac-10, while Stanford improves to 11-1 overall and 2-0 in conference action.

Cardinal midfielder Callie Withers scored the game's only goal in the fifth minute of the match on a bending free kick from 21 yards out. A UCLA foul just outside the Bruin box set up that kick, just 4:48 into the match.

Following that early Stanford goal, UCLA had several scoring opportunities, including three excellent chances in the second half. In the 67th minute of play, Bruin freshman Katie Rivera dribbled past the entire Cardinal defense before missing a shot wide to the right.

In the 77th minute, Stanford goalkeeper Nicole Barnhart was forced to make an incredible diving save following a hard-liner by UCLA freshman Iris Mora.

UCLA's best scoring opportunity came in the 86th minute of action when Mora was pulled down right outside the Cardinal box. Bruin midfielder Whitney Jones took the free kick, bending a ball over the Stanford wall, hitting the crossbar. The ball bounced back into play and Nandi Pryce drove in another shot that was saved and eventually cleared by Stanford.

UCLA, which dominated most of the action in the second half, outshot the Cardinal, 12-5.

Next up for the Bruins will be meetings with Arizona on Oct. 18 and Arizona State on Oct. 20. Both of those matches are in Arizona.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC
Sunday, Dec 06 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC