Three Bruins into Semifinals at So. Cal Intercollegiates

Nov. 4, 2005

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA men's tennis team had three players advance to the singles semifinals at the Southern California Intercollegiate Championships at the Los Angeles Tennis Club on Friday.

Sophomore Mathieu Dehaine, seeded fourth in the tournament, began the day with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over BYU's James Ludlow. He followed that up by registering a 6-3, 7-6(1) decision over UC Irvine's Victor Lamm.

Chris Surapol posted a 6-2, 6-3 second-round win over UCLA freshman Michael Look before downing UC Irvine's Mustafa Ulukan, 6-1, 6-2. Ulukan defeated second-seeded Philipp Gruendler, who was forced to retire down 7-6(0), 1-0 in the second round. Surapol and Dehaine will meet in one semifinal on Saturday.

In the top-half of the draw, UCLA's Jeremy Drean began his semifinal run with a 7-5, 6-4 win over Pepperdine's Richard Johnson. He then took a 2-6, 6-3, 7-5 victory over third-seeded Nima Roshan of BYU. Drean was down 5-2 in the third set before rallying to win. He will meet top-seeded Adam Holmstrom of Denver in the other semifinal on Saturday. Holmstrom defeated Bruin junior Aaron Yovan, 6-4, 7-6(4) in the quarterfinals.

Doubles play is being played later Friday afternoon.

For complete results from the So. Cal Intercollegiate Championships, click HERE.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
-
Friday, Feb 12 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS