Three Bruins into Semifinals at So. Cal Intercollegiates

Nov. 4, 2005

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA men's tennis team had three players advance to the singles semifinals at the Southern California Intercollegiate Championships at the Los Angeles Tennis Club on Friday.

Sophomore Mathieu Dehaine, seeded fourth in the tournament, began the day with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over BYU's James Ludlow. He followed that up by registering a 6-3, 7-6(1) decision over UC Irvine's Victor Lamm.

Chris Surapol posted a 6-2, 6-3 second-round win over UCLA freshman Michael Look before downing UC Irvine's Mustafa Ulukan, 6-1, 6-2. Ulukan defeated second-seeded Philipp Gruendler, who was forced to retire down 7-6(0), 1-0 in the second round. Surapol and Dehaine will meet in one semifinal on Saturday.

In the top-half of the draw, UCLA's Jeremy Drean began his semifinal run with a 7-5, 6-4 win over Pepperdine's Richard Johnson. He then took a 2-6, 6-3, 7-5 victory over third-seeded Nima Roshan of BYU. Drean was down 5-2 in the third set before rallying to win. He will meet top-seeded Adam Holmstrom of Denver in the other semifinal on Saturday. Holmstrom defeated Bruin junior Aaron Yovan, 6-4, 7-6(4) in the quarterfinals.

Doubles play is being played later Friday afternoon.

For complete results from the So. Cal Intercollegiate Championships, click HERE.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS