Bruins Blank Anteaters, 7-0

Feb. 12, 2004

Results

LOS ANGELES - Eighth-ranked UCLA snapped its two match-losing streak Thursday, defeating UC Irvine, 7-0 in a non-conference women's tennis match at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. With the victory, UCLA evens its record at 3-3 overall, while the Anteaters fall to 2-2 with the loss.

Despite experimenting with two new doubles combinations, UCLA came out firing to start the match, winning at all three doubles positions. The Bruins' new No. 1 team of Daniela Bercek and Lauren Fisher posted an 8-5 decision over UCI's Anna Bentzer/Tiffany Chang. At the No. 2 position, Jackie Carleton and Feriel Esseghir cruised to an 8-2 victory over Hui Leow/Christie Posner. The Bruins won at the No. 3 court 8-0.

In singles play, Esseghir dropped just one game in a 6-0, 6-1 decision over Leow at the No. 3 position. She was followed by Bercek, who defeated Chang, 6-2, 6-1 at the No. 2 court. The match was clinched at court No. 5, where UCLA's Shilpa Joshi defeated Posner, 6-4, 6-1.

Although she was pushed to the distance, Bruin sophomore Laura Gordon gave UCLA a 5-0 advantage in the match when she outlasted Kristina Boss, 6-2, 4-6, (11-9) at the No. 4 spot. A 10-point tiebreaker was played in place of a third set.

Nina Yaftali and Carleton capped off the victory for UCLA, winning their matches in straight sets. Yaftali defeated Veronica Fermin, 6-2, 6-4 at court No. 6 and Carleton knocked off Bentzer, 6-3, 7-5 at the No. 1 spot.

The Bruins return to action tomorrow as they host No. 21 Fresno State at the LATC beginning at 1:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Friday, Mar 11
at California
Berkeley, CA
Rained out.
Saturday, Mar 12
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 1 - 5
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Friday, Apr 01
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Apr 03
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
Friday, May 13
vs. Notre Dame
Columbus, OH
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14
at Ohio State
Columbus, OH
L, 1 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS