No. 3 Bruins Cruise Past Fresno State, 6-1

Jan. 24, 2002


Los Angeles - The third-ranked UCLA men's tennis team won its second match of the season without too much trouble Thursday, downing visiting Fresno State, 6-1 at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. With the victory, the Bruins improve to 2-0 on the season, while Fresno State, which lost to USC on Wednesday in its 2001 season opener, falls to 0-2.

After splitting the first two doubles matches, UCLA clinched the one point awarded for doubles play at the No. 1 position, where top-ranked Marcin Matkowski and Jean-Julien Rojer defeated Fresno State's Hector Almada/Alex Krohn, 8-4.

The Bruins dominated singles play, winning five of six matches in straight sets. Fresno State picked up its only point of the afternoon at the No. 2 slot, where Nick Fustar fought off a match point at 4-5 down in the third set to edge Matkowski, 7-6(4), 2-6, 7-5.

Bruin junior Rodrigo Grilli, fresh off his title at the National Collegiate Classic last week in Las Vegas, continued his hot streak, downing FSU's Stefan Suta, 6-2, 6-2 at No. 1 singles. Other Bruins winning singles matches Thursday included Rojer, Erfan Djahangiri, Lassi Ketola and Derrick Nguyen.

The Bruins return to action next Tuesday when they host UNLV at the LATC beginning at 1:30 p.m.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 10 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCTC Tournament
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - TBA PST
vs. Georgia Tech or New ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 2:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA