No. 3 Bruins Cruise Past Fresno State, 6-1

Jan. 24, 2002

Results

Los Angeles - The third-ranked UCLA men's tennis team won its second match of the season without too much trouble Thursday, downing visiting Fresno State, 6-1 at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. With the victory, the Bruins improve to 2-0 on the season, while Fresno State, which lost to USC on Wednesday in its 2001 season opener, falls to 0-2.

After splitting the first two doubles matches, UCLA clinched the one point awarded for doubles play at the No. 1 position, where top-ranked Marcin Matkowski and Jean-Julien Rojer defeated Fresno State's Hector Almada/Alex Krohn, 8-4.

The Bruins dominated singles play, winning five of six matches in straight sets. Fresno State picked up its only point of the afternoon at the No. 2 slot, where Nick Fustar fought off a match point at 4-5 down in the third set to edge Matkowski, 7-6(4), 2-6, 7-5.

Bruin junior Rodrigo Grilli, fresh off his title at the National Collegiate Classic last week in Las Vegas, continued his hot streak, downing FSU's Stefan Suta, 6-2, 6-2 at No. 1 singles. Other Bruins winning singles matches Thursday included Rojer, Erfan Djahangiri, Lassi Ketola and Derrick Nguyen.

The Bruins return to action next Tuesday when they host UNLV at the LATC beginning at 1:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS