First Round Play Suspended at NCAA Men's Golf Championships

May 29, 2002

UCLA sophomore John Merrick was one-under par through 10 holes before first-round play was suspended because of rain at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships in Columbus, OH.

Merrick, UCLA's lone qualifier, trailed the leaders by five shots with eight holes to play. He will continue at the 11th hole Tuesday, and tee it up shortly thereafter for the second round tomorrow, weather permitting.

Merrick began the day by bogeying the par five first hole. He brought his score back to par with a birdie at the par five fourth. He then birdied the par four seventh and parred the eighth and ninth holes for front nine score of one-under 35. He parred the 10th when play was suspended.

Ben Portie of Colorado was the individual leader at five-under par 66, followed by Georgia Tech's Nicholas Thompson and San Diego State's Mark Warman at four-under 67. Washington's Brock Mackenzie was five-under par after 14 holes when play was halted.

Arizona finished the first round as the team leader at two-under par 282, followed by the University of Toledo at one-under 283.

For complete scores and results, access golfstat.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Saturday, Feb 27 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sunday, Feb 28 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Monday, Mar 07 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 08 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS