Bruin Golfers Are Tied for 13th after 54 Holes

May 25, 2006

UCLA's second-ranked women's golf team was tied for 13th after the third round of the 25th NCAA Women's Golf Championship, hosted by The Ohio State University at its Scarlet Course.

The national championship tournament is a 72-hole event over four days.

On Thursday, the Bruins carded a team score of 15-over par 303 for a 54-hole total of 910 (+46). UCLA trailed Tennessee by two strokes and was six strokes behind 11th place Auburn. Top-ranked Duke snatched the three-round lead and built a 13-stroke cushion heading into the final round. The Blue Devils posted a third round score of 287 (-1) and were first at 876 (+12). USC was second at 889 (+25), followed by Pepperdine at 894 (+30). Purdue and Arizona State were tied for fourth at 896 (+32).

Sophomore Amie Cochran, who recorded three of UCLA's six birdies on the day, posted a 71 (-1) on Thursday for a 54-hole total of 220 (+4) that was tied for ninth. Freshman Tiffany Joh was tied for 50th at 228 (+12) after carding a 79 (+7). Tied at 233 (+17) in 77th place were senior Susie Mathews (76), junior Hannah Jun (79) and freshman Jane Park (77).

Pepperdine's Eileen Vargas remained atop the leaderboard for the third straight day, carding a 75 in the third round for a 54-hole total of 214 (-2). She holds a three-stroke lead over four players at 217 (+1).

Final round action continues on Friday.

For complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07 - All Day PST
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Monday, Feb 08 - All Day PST
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Tuesday, Feb 09 - All Day PST
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 22 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 29 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Wednesday, Mar 23 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Friday, Apr 08 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Saturday, Apr 09 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Monday, Apr 18 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS