Bruin Golfers Are Tied for 13th after 54 Holes

May 25, 2006

UCLA's second-ranked women's golf team was tied for 13th after the third round of the 25th NCAA Women's Golf Championship, hosted by The Ohio State University at its Scarlet Course.

The national championship tournament is a 72-hole event over four days.

On Thursday, the Bruins carded a team score of 15-over par 303 for a 54-hole total of 910 (+46). UCLA trailed Tennessee by two strokes and was six strokes behind 11th place Auburn. Top-ranked Duke snatched the three-round lead and built a 13-stroke cushion heading into the final round. The Blue Devils posted a third round score of 287 (-1) and were first at 876 (+12). USC was second at 889 (+25), followed by Pepperdine at 894 (+30). Purdue and Arizona State were tied for fourth at 896 (+32).

Sophomore Amie Cochran, who recorded three of UCLA's six birdies on the day, posted a 71 (-1) on Thursday for a 54-hole total of 220 (+4) that was tied for ninth. Freshman Tiffany Joh was tied for 50th at 228 (+12) after carding a 79 (+7). Tied at 233 (+17) in 77th place were senior Susie Mathews (76), junior Hannah Jun (79) and freshman Jane Park (77).

Pepperdine's Eileen Vargas remained atop the leaderboard for the third straight day, carding a 75 in the third round for a 54-hole total of 214 (-2). She holds a three-stroke lead over four players at 217 (+1).

Final round action continues on Friday.

For complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS