NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Brooks and Ormsby Named First-Team All-American

Dec. 26, 2002

Three members of the UCLA men's water polo team were named to the American Water Polo Coaches All-America teams as announced on Monday.

Goalkeeper Brandon Brooks (Sr., Honolulu, HI/Punahou) was selected to the first team after breaking the UCLA career saves record with 700 in his four year career. The First-Team All-MPSF selection led the conference with 9.86 saves per game in 2002. He was named the MPSF Player of the Week after leading the Bruins to a Northern California Tournament title, averaging 12 saves per game during the weekend. He also finished 2002 allowing 6.45 goals per contest, which ranked fourth in the MPSF and seventh in UCLA history. The honor was the second first-team selection after being chosen in 2000. He was a second-team selection in 2001.

Sophomore driver Brett Ormsby (El Cajon/Valhalla) earned his first first-team honor, after a spot on the second-team last season. Ormsby led the UCLA offense for the second year, leading the team with 58 goals. He was also the most consistent Bruin threat, scoring in every match during the season. Ormsby scored three or more goals on ten different occasions, including a five goal performance in the Bruins' 7-6 overtime win over USC in the MPSF Tournament.

Matt Flesher (Sr., Diamond Bar/Brea Olinda), UCLA's best two-way athlete, was named a third-team All-American for the second consecutive year. One of the Bruins' co-captains and their emotional leader, Flesher finished with 17 goals on the season, tied for third on the team. He made his mark in the defensive categories with ten field saves and 13 steals on the season. His best offensive performance came in the third-place match of the MPSF Tournament, when he led all scorers with three goals to lead UCLA over top-ranked Stanford.

Stanford, which finished 24-5 and won its second consecutive NCAA championship on December 8th at Loyola Marymount also placed two athletes on the first team. Sophomore Tony Azevedo walked away with his second straight Player of the Year award.

All-America First Team
Tony Azevedo, Stanford
Attila Banhidy, California
Brandon Brooks, UCLA (GK)
Peter Hudnut, Stanford
Brett Ormsby, UCLA
Jeff Powers, UC Irvine
Jesse Smith, Pepperdine

All-America Second Team
Pedrag Damjanov, USC
Nic Hepner, Pacific
Aaron Holloway, Long Beach State
Karl Niehaus, Pepperdine
Andrew Stoddard, California
Michel Vieira, Queens College
Russell Bernstein, California (GK)

All-America Third Team
Dreason Barry, UC Irvine
Matt Flesher, UCLA
Kevin Foster, Princeton
Chris Lathrop, California
Kevin Witt, Loyola Marymount
Jaraj Zatovic, USC
Nick Ellis, Stanford (GK)

All-America Honorable Mention
Nathan Allard, Long Beach State
Anthony Borasi, UC Santa Barbara
Mike Derse, Stanford
Matt Ellis, UC San Diego
Peter Felvegi, St. Francis
Eric Geoffroy, Long Beach State
Nick Hill, Navy (GK)
Jonathan Hopkins, UC San Diego
Sasha Maese, Pacific
Mike Masterson, Harvard
Jeff Nesmith, Stanford
Chris Przekota, Iona
Michael Soltis, Pepperdine (GK)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events