No. 2 UCLA Defeats UC Irvine, 15-5

Feb. 19, 2006

Irvine, Calif. - The No. 2 UCLA women's water polo team on Sunday afternoon defeated No. 13 UC Irvine, 15-5, in a Mountain Pacific Sports Federation match at the Anteater Aquatics Complex.

The Bruins took an 8-0 lead at the half as Kelly Rulon scored three of her four goals in the opening half. The Anteaters got on the board with 5:22 left in the third period as junior Robyn Kaake converted a penalty throw to make it 8-1. UCLA scored two more goals to go up 10-1 with 3:29 remaining in the third period. Freshman Gianna Rossi added a goal for UCI with 1:33 remaining to cut the lead to 10-2 at the end of the third period. UCLA outscored UCI 5-3 in the fourth period for a final score of 15-5.

Kelly Rulon of UCLA led all scorers with four goals and Gabrielle Domanic had three goals for the Bruins. Robyn Kaake led UCI with two goals in the match.

The Bruins will next compete at the Gaucho Invitational Saturday, Feb. 25th and Sunday, Feb. 26th in Santa Barbara.

UCLA vs. UC Irvine

1 2 3 4 F
UCLA 4 4 2 5 15
UC Irvine 0 0 2 3 5

UCLA Goals: Kelly Rulon 4, Gabrielle Domanic 3, Tanya Gandy 2, Katie Rulon 2, Thalia Munro, Jillian Kraus, Anne Belden, Kristina Kunkel
UCLA Saves: Emily Feher 3, Brittany Fullen 1
UCI Goals: Robyn Kaake 2, Gianna Rossi, Jackie Prine, Julia Fancher
UCI Saves: Lauren Machanis 11


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
W, 17 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Loyola Marymount
San Diego, CA
W, 14 - 7
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:10 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, May 13 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS