No. 4 UCLA Downs Oakland, 6-2

Sept. 14, 2003

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - Six different players scored goals Sunday, as fourth-ranked UCLA defeated Oakland, 6-2 in the final day of competition at the Loyola Marymount Women's Soccer Tournament at Sullivan Field. UCLA, which downed Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 4-0 on Friday, improves to 4-0-2 on the season. Oakland drops to 2-3-1.

The Bruins jumped out to an early lead, scoring three goals in the first 19 minutes of play. Bruin junior Kendal Billingsley got things started for UCLA, scoring in the ninth minute on an assist from Stacy Lindstrom. Six minutes later, Lindsay Greco put the Bruins up 2-0 on an unassisted goal at the 14:53 mark.

The Bruins would get another goal just moments later when freshman Bristyn Davis put in her second goal of the year in the 19th minute of play, putting UCLA ahead 3-0. Whitney Jones was credited with the assist on Davis' goal.

Following the Bruins' third goal, Oakland got on the board just five seconds later when Shelly Piccirillo scored to cut the lead to 3-1.

The Bruins would go into halftime with a 4-1 advantage, as Jones scored in the 37th minute and Oakland's Piccirillo put in her second goal of the match at the 42:51 mark.

In the second half, Bruin senior Sarah-Gayle Swanson tallied her second goal of the year and junior Kim Devine scored on a penalty kick, giving UCLA the 6-2 victory.

Jones finished the afternoon with a match-high four points (1g, 2a), moving into the team lead in scoring with six points on the season.

UCLA has a busy weekend ahead, as the Bruins travel to the Duke adidas Classic in Durham, N.C. this Friday and Sunday. UCLA faces top-ranked North Carolina on Friday at 5:00 p.m. (EST) and Duke on Sunday at 11:00 a.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS