Bruins Lose WCWS Opener In 10 Innings

May 22, 2003

Photo Gallery | Final Stats| Quotes| Notes

OKLAHOMA CITY - UCLA dropped its Women's College World Series opener late Thursday night, falling to seventh seeded California 7-3 in 10 innings. Keira Goerl struck out 13 in the game, that featured a game-tying home run in the bottom of the seventh inning by senior Tairia Mims. UCLA will return to the field on Saturday afternoon at 1 pm Pacific Time against Louisisana-Lafayette. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.

Natasha Watley started the game with a single to left field, and repeated the process with one out in the third inning, putting a single through the left side of the Golden Bears infield. A sacrifice bunt by Caitlin Benyi advanced Watley to second, and she would score on a double down the left field line by Tairia Mims, giving the Bruins a 1-0 lead.

Cal tied the score in the fifth inning when a double by Kaleo Eldridge scored pinch runner LeAnne Holgen, who was pinch-running for Haley Woods, who had led off the inning with a single. Chelsea Spencer then reached on a fielders choice and advanced to second base when the ball was bobbled at third base.

After Jessica Pamanian struck out to record the first out of the inning, Kristen Morley singled to load the bases, as the ball was hit to the left side and Tairia Mims was able to hold the runners. Vicky Galindo then stepped to the plate and plated a run on a Bruin error, their second on the inning. UCLA then recorded two outs on fielders choice plays, the first one at the plate, and a second on an impressive play by Natasha Watley that recorded the final out of the inning at third base.

Veronica Nelson added to the California lead in the sixth inning and placed her 12th home run of the season over the left field fence, giving Cal the 3-1 lead. UCLA was able to put two runners on in the bottom of the inning, as Emily Zaplatosch and Toria Auelua drew two-out walks, but the Bruins were unable to convert either runner into a run on the scoreboard.

UCLA stormed back in the seventh inning with a rally that started as Andrea Duran reached on a Golden Bear error. Natasha Watley then reached on a fielders choice, with Duran out on the play. A fly ball hit to left by Caitlin Benyi was just inches shy of a home run, but instead advanced Watley to second base for the second out of the inning. Tairia Mims then delivered for the Bruins, crushing the first pitch she saw from Kelly Anderson over the left field fence to tie the game.

Neither team put up a run in the 8th or 9th inning, but the Golden Bears did all the damage they needed in the top of the 10th inning. Cal put up four runs, aided by three UCLA errors, and put the game away by batting around in the inning.

Keira Goerl struck out 13 in the game, and just three of the runs she allowed were earned.

UCLA will return to action on Saturday afternoon at 1 pm Pacific Time against Louisiana-Lafayette. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28 - 6:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS