Bruins Lose WCWS Opener In 10 Innings

May 22, 2003

Photo Gallery | Final Stats| Quotes| Notes

OKLAHOMA CITY - UCLA dropped its Women's College World Series opener late Thursday night, falling to seventh seeded California 7-3 in 10 innings. Keira Goerl struck out 13 in the game, that featured a game-tying home run in the bottom of the seventh inning by senior Tairia Mims. UCLA will return to the field on Saturday afternoon at 1 pm Pacific Time against Louisisana-Lafayette. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.

Natasha Watley started the game with a single to left field, and repeated the process with one out in the third inning, putting a single through the left side of the Golden Bears infield. A sacrifice bunt by Caitlin Benyi advanced Watley to second, and she would score on a double down the left field line by Tairia Mims, giving the Bruins a 1-0 lead.

Cal tied the score in the fifth inning when a double by Kaleo Eldridge scored pinch runner LeAnne Holgen, who was pinch-running for Haley Woods, who had led off the inning with a single. Chelsea Spencer then reached on a fielders choice and advanced to second base when the ball was bobbled at third base.

After Jessica Pamanian struck out to record the first out of the inning, Kristen Morley singled to load the bases, as the ball was hit to the left side and Tairia Mims was able to hold the runners. Vicky Galindo then stepped to the plate and plated a run on a Bruin error, their second on the inning. UCLA then recorded two outs on fielders choice plays, the first one at the plate, and a second on an impressive play by Natasha Watley that recorded the final out of the inning at third base.

Veronica Nelson added to the California lead in the sixth inning and placed her 12th home run of the season over the left field fence, giving Cal the 3-1 lead. UCLA was able to put two runners on in the bottom of the inning, as Emily Zaplatosch and Toria Auelua drew two-out walks, but the Bruins were unable to convert either runner into a run on the scoreboard.

UCLA stormed back in the seventh inning with a rally that started as Andrea Duran reached on a Golden Bear error. Natasha Watley then reached on a fielders choice, with Duran out on the play. A fly ball hit to left by Caitlin Benyi was just inches shy of a home run, but instead advanced Watley to second base for the second out of the inning. Tairia Mims then delivered for the Bruins, crushing the first pitch she saw from Kelly Anderson over the left field fence to tie the game.

Neither team put up a run in the 8th or 9th inning, but the Golden Bears did all the damage they needed in the top of the 10th inning. Cal put up four runs, aided by three UCLA errors, and put the game away by batting around in the inning.

Keira Goerl struck out 13 in the game, and just three of the runs she allowed were earned.

UCLA will return to action on Saturday afternoon at 1 pm Pacific Time against Louisiana-Lafayette. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS