Three Bruins Selected to Soccer America's All-America Team

Aug. 18, 1999

UCLA's Carlos Bocanegra (junior defender, Alta Loma, Calif.), Pete Vagenas (senior midfielder, Pasadena, Calif.) and Sasha Victorine (senior midfielder, Corona, Calif.) were selected to Soccer America's Pre-Season All-America list. Each of the three were also selected as pre-season All-Americans by College Soccer Online.

UCLA is tied with Indiana and Maryland with three representatives apiece. Seven members of the first team played on the U.S. U-23 or U-20 teams during the offseason, including all three Bruins. The rest of the first team consists of two Ukrainians, one Norwegian and one Serbian. The second team features 10 Americans and one Serbian.

FIRST TEAM            
POSITION         PLAYER                   TEAM                   YEAR 
Goalkeeper       Adin Brown               William & Mary         Senior 
Defender         Nick Garcia              Indiana                Junior 
Defender         Carlos Bocanegra         UCLA                   Junior
Defender         Lee Morrison             Stanford               Sophomore 
Midfielder       Yuri Lavrinenko          Indiana                Senior 
Midfielder       Sasha Victorine          UCLA                   Senior 
Midfielder       Pete Vagenas             UCLA                   Senior 
Midfielder       Sigurd Dalen             Boston Univ.           Senior 
Forward          Aleksey Korol            Indiana                Senior 
Forward          Taylor Twellman          Maryland               Sophomore 
Forward          Nesa Stefanovic          Jacksonville           Junior 

SECOND TEAM POSITION PLAYER TEAM YEAR Goalkeeper Adam Zapala Stanford Sophomore Defender Nick Downing Maryland Sophomore Defender Dan Califf Maryland Sophomore Defender Cory Gibbs Brown Junior Midfielder Ryan Trout Virginia Junior Midfielder Mark Lisi Clemson Junior Midfielder Wes Hart Washington Senior Midfielder Gavin Glinton Bradley Sophomore Forward Bole Acimovic Jacksonville Sophomore Forward Brian Waltrip South Florida Senior Forward Colby Jackson Cal State Fullerton Senior


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 4:00 PM PST
at Maryland
College Park, MD
Monday, Sep 07 - 10:00 AM PST
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Sep 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 1:30 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Sunday, Oct 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS