Nana Meriwether Named UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week

Aug. 28, 2006

Senior middle blocker Nana Meriwether (Potomac, MD/Sidwell Friends HS) of the UCLA Women's Volleyball team was selected as the UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week (Aug. 21-27).

Meriwether was named the MVP of the 2006 State Farm Bearcats Invitational, which the Bruins won with a 3-0 record. Meriwether, who is coming off of shoulder surgery performed last spring, did not play in the Bruins' opener against Tennessee Tech (a 3-0 UCLA win) but returned to action against Western Michigan and Cincinnati, averaging team-highs of 3.86 kills/game, 1.57 blocks/game and a .451 attack percentage. Her raw total of 11 blocks was two more than any other player on the team despite the fact that she played in three fewer games.

This is Meriwether's first UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and third of her career.

Also nominated: Greg Folk, M. Soccer; McCall Zerboni, W. Soccer.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS