MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here

Bruins in 7th Place at End of Day Two of NCAA Championships
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  03/19/2004

March 19, 2004

Complete Updated Results

College Station, TX - At the conclusion of the second day of action at the 2004 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships, held at Texas A&M's Student Rec. Center Natatorium, the UCLA Bruins stand in seventh place with 126 points. Defending champion Auburn continues to lead the way with 399 points, followed by Georgia with 278 points. Arizona stands in third place with 261 points, followed by Cal (fourth, 179.50 points) and Florida (fifth, 171 points).

In the first final of the evening, the Bruins placed seventh in the 200m Medley Relay. The team of freshman Katie Arnold (Back, 28.2), senior Leslie Hovsepian (Breast, 32.47), sophomore Kim Vandenberg (Fly, 26.99) and senior Sara Platzer (Free, 23.94) set a new school record, finishing in 1:51.60. The previous record of 1:51.81 was set earlier this year. Auburn won the relay in a NCAA record setting 1:49.02.

In the 100m Fly, Vandenberg finished ninth in 59.36, just .02 shy of the school record. Senior Kristen Lewis placed 13th in 59.83. Cal's Natalie Coughlin, the world record holder in this event, won in a NCAA Championship meet record 56.88.

And, in the final event of the night, the Bruins broke the school record in the 800m Free relay. The team of Platzer (2:00.25), Vandenberg (2:01.05), senior Jackie Lobdell (2:00.97) and senior Malin Svahnstrom (1:59.31) finished 10th in 8:01.58. The previous school record of 8:16.59 was set earlier this year. Cal won the relay in a NCAA Championship meet and collegiate record time of 7:50.94.

All of the Bruin competitors tonight received All-America honors. The 2004 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships will conclude tomorrow. Preliminaries will begin at 11:00 AM CST/9:00 AM PST. Finals will begin at 7:00 PM CST/5:00 PM PST.


‹ UCLA Swimming & Diving



advertisement
*UCLA 2014 Men's Water Polo NCAA National Champions... 
Price: $20.00