Bruins Advance to Semifinals of Match Play Championships

Nov. 3, 2003

The second-ranked UCLA women's golf team won both of its opening round matches at the Collegiate Match Play Championships and advanced to today's semifinals against top-ranked Duke.

The Bruins, seeded fourth, defeated North Carolina 3-2 in the first round and won 4-1 in round two against Texas. The tournament is being played at the Barefoot Resort in Myrtle Beach, SC.

In the first match, junior All-American Charlotte Mayorkas defeated Meaghan Francella, 2 and 1, sophomore Susie Mathews won 5 and 3 against Romi Irons, and senior Krystal Shearer defeated Shannon Boyle, 7 and 6. North Carolina's Ashley Prange defeated UCLA freshman Hannah Jun, 3 and 2, and Katie Miller defeated junior Yvonne Choe, 5 and 3.

Against Texas, UCLA Coach Carrie Forsyth replaced Choe with senior Gina Umeck and the strategy worked. Umeck defeated Julia Best, 6 and 5 at the No.3 position. At No.1 Mayorkas beat Devan Anderson, 2-up, and Jun defeated Mariana Salazar, 4 and 2. At No.5, Shearer won 4 and 2 against Perry Swenson. Mathews lost 2 and 1 to Lisa Ferrero.

The Bruins will meet top-ranked Duke in today's semifinals. The Blue Devils won a tie-breaker against Purdue based on the number of holes won. The Blue Devils came back in the second round and blanked Ohio State, 5-0.

For complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
LIVE NOW
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 22 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 29 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Wednesday, Mar 23 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Friday, Apr 08 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Saturday, Apr 09 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Monday, Apr 18 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS