Bruins Advance to Semifinals of Match Play Championships

Nov. 3, 2003

The second-ranked UCLA women's golf team won both of its opening round matches at the Collegiate Match Play Championships and advanced to today's semifinals against top-ranked Duke.

The Bruins, seeded fourth, defeated North Carolina 3-2 in the first round and won 4-1 in round two against Texas. The tournament is being played at the Barefoot Resort in Myrtle Beach, SC.

In the first match, junior All-American Charlotte Mayorkas defeated Meaghan Francella, 2 and 1, sophomore Susie Mathews won 5 and 3 against Romi Irons, and senior Krystal Shearer defeated Shannon Boyle, 7 and 6. North Carolina's Ashley Prange defeated UCLA freshman Hannah Jun, 3 and 2, and Katie Miller defeated junior Yvonne Choe, 5 and 3.

Against Texas, UCLA Coach Carrie Forsyth replaced Choe with senior Gina Umeck and the strategy worked. Umeck defeated Julia Best, 6 and 5 at the No.3 position. At No.1 Mayorkas beat Devan Anderson, 2-up, and Jun defeated Mariana Salazar, 4 and 2. At No.5, Shearer won 4 and 2 against Perry Swenson. Mathews lost 2 and 1 to Lisa Ferrero.

The Bruins will meet top-ranked Duke in today's semifinals. The Blue Devils won a tie-breaker against Purdue based on the number of holes won. The Blue Devils came back in the second round and blanked Ohio State, 5-0.

For complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Monday, Feb 22
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
T-6th (+17, 881)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 21 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 22 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 23 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, May 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS