Men's Basketball Downs Simon Fraser, 97-48

Nov. 6, 2004

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - In UCLA's first exhibition game of the season, the Bruins defeated Simon Fraser University 97-48 on Friday before 5,096 in Pauley Pavilion.

The Bruins had four players in double figures-led by freshman point guard Jordan Farmar's game-high tying19 points and seven assists, along with 13 points each from senior Dijon Thompson (with seven rebounds) and freshman Josh Shipp. Senior Brian Morrison, playing backup point guard for the Bruins, added 11 points, a game-high tying eight rebounds and a game-high nine assists.

SFU, located in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada, jumped out to an early 8-3 lead, with 14:47 left in the first half, on a basket by Melvyn Mayott. UCLA took the lead for good, and never looked back, when Thompson's tipin gave the Bruins an 11-10 advantage. UCLA led 45-23 at halftime and outscored SFU 52-25 in the second half.

"We played hard defensively," said Bruin head coach Ben Howland. "We were passionate on the defensive end. Offensively, we pushed the ball- we were unselfish. We scored 97 points in 36 minutes-we really didn't score in the first four minutes."

The Bruins shot 56.1 (37-66) from the field, 40.0 (10-125) from three-point range and 68.4 (13-19) from the foul line, with a game-high 53 rebounds, 23 assists and 15 turnovers. SFU shot 28.1 (16-57) from the field, 14.3 (3-21) from three-point range and 65.0 (13-20) from the foul line, with 25 rebounds, five assists and 15 turnovers. Simon Fraser was led by Aaron Christensen's 19 points and Brent Charleton's 16.

Both teams were short-handed. Earlier in the day, the Bruins learned that senior point guard Cedric Bozeman would be lost for the season with a right knee torn anterior cruciate ligament, suffered in practice on Thursday. He will have surgery sometime in November.

This week, two of Simon Fraser's top players - 6-6 sophomore Sean Stewart and 6-11 senior center Mike Klizs, left the program. Since last summer, five players have transferred out of SFU. Simon Fraser head coach Scott Clark did not accompany the team to Los Angeles.

The Bruins will continue exhibition play on Thursday, Nov. 11, hosting Monterrey Tech (Mexico) at 7:30 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion. Simon Fraser, 2-8 overall and losers of its last five games, will play at UC Irvine on Saturday (Nov. 6).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 75 - 81
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS