TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Pac-10 All-Academic Track & Field Honors Released
By: UCLA Athletics

June 28, 2000

Los Angeles -- UCLA seniors, Narc Narcisse and Kelly O'Connor, earned first-team Pacific-10 All-Academic track and field honors Wednesday. The Pac-10 Conference Office announced the All-Academic teams for spring sports on Wednesday.

O'Connor, from Esperanza HS in Anaheim, has the highest grade point average of any UCLA female student-athlete, a 3.93 gpa in linguistics/computer science. She recently placed eighth (40-6w, +3.4, season wind-aided best) in the triple jump at the 2000 conference meet. This is her third consecutive first-team Pac-10 All-Academic and in 1999 as a junior, she earned first-team GTE All-District VIII Academic honors.

Narcisse, who attended high school in France and transferred to UCLA from Lock Haven (PA) University, earned first-team All-League Academic honors with a 3.68gpa in physics. At the 2000 Pac-10 meet, Narcisse was 11th in the long jump (23-0 3/4w, +2.3) and triple jump (45-8, season legal best) and also competed in the110m hurdles.

The Bruins also had several other athletes earn second team and honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors. They are:
Women - Honorable Mention - Christina Bowen, senior, distance runner, Erica Hoernig, junior, pole vault, Heather Sickler, sophomore, pole vault.
Men - Second Team - Joe Franklin, junior, javelin (Chinese, 3.41), Jess Strutzel, senior, 2000 NCAA Indoor 800m champion (3.12, theater arts). Honorable Mention - Bryan Green, sophomore, distance runner, Nate Marum, freshman, javelin, Brian McLaughlin, senior, pole vault, Matt Pitts, senior, steeplechase.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 13 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS