TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Pac-10 All-Academic Track & Field Honors Released
By: UCLA Athletics

June 28, 2000

Los Angeles -- UCLA seniors, Narc Narcisse and Kelly O'Connor, earned first-team Pacific-10 All-Academic track and field honors Wednesday. The Pac-10 Conference Office announced the All-Academic teams for spring sports on Wednesday.

O'Connor, from Esperanza HS in Anaheim, has the highest grade point average of any UCLA female student-athlete, a 3.93 gpa in linguistics/computer science. She recently placed eighth (40-6w, +3.4, season wind-aided best) in the triple jump at the 2000 conference meet. This is her third consecutive first-team Pac-10 All-Academic and in 1999 as a junior, she earned first-team GTE All-District VIII Academic honors.

Narcisse, who attended high school in France and transferred to UCLA from Lock Haven (PA) University, earned first-team All-League Academic honors with a 3.68gpa in physics. At the 2000 Pac-10 meet, Narcisse was 11th in the long jump (23-0 3/4w, +2.3) and triple jump (45-8, season legal best) and also competed in the110m hurdles.

The Bruins also had several other athletes earn second team and honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors. They are:
Women - Honorable Mention - Christina Bowen, senior, distance runner, Erica Hoernig, junior, pole vault, Heather Sickler, sophomore, pole vault.
Men - Second Team - Joe Franklin, junior, javelin (Chinese, 3.41), Jess Strutzel, senior, 2000 NCAA Indoor 800m champion (3.12, theater arts). Honorable Mention - Bryan Green, sophomore, distance runner, Nate Marum, freshman, javelin, Brian McLaughlin, senior, pole vault, Matt Pitts, senior, steeplechase.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS