For Second Year in a Row, Venegas Named MPSF Indoor T & F Men's Coach of the Year

March 7, 2003

Art Venegas, in his fourth year as the UCLA men's head track & field coach and 22nd on the Bruin staff, has been named the 2003 MPSF Indoor T & F Men's Coach of the Year. It's the second consecutive season Venegas has won the award.

For the last two years (2003-02), he has guided the Bruin men's team to the MPSF men's indoor track & field team championship. The UCLA men won the 2003 title on Feb. 21-22 at Boise State, winning the 10-team championship with 127.5 points, ahead of second-place Stanford (99) and third-place Arizona (74).

The Bruin men, this week ranked No. 19 in the U. S. by Trackwire, were led by six individual champions - freshman Craig Everhart in the 400m (47.68); sophomore Nick Thornton in the 800m (1:51.13); UCLA's distance medley relay (9:52.75); sophomore Juaune Armon in the long jump (25-1.25, NCAA provisional qualifier); senior Scott Wiegand in the shot put (65-3.25, 65-3.25, personal-best, NCAA automatic qualifier, No. 7 in school history) and junior Dan Ames in the 35lb. weight throw (67-9.25 (NCAA provisional qualifier).

Also winning 2003 MPSF Indoor T & F honors were - Men's Athlete of the Year-Stanford's Louis Luchini, who won both the 3000m/5000m; Women's Coach of the Year-Stanford's Vin Lananna, who guided the Cardinal to the women's team title and Female Athlete of the Year-Arizona's Amy Linnen, who won the pole vault.

During Venegas' career at UCLA, he has coached the Bruin men and women throwers to 33 NCAA individual championships and since 1990, UCLA men and women throwers have won 45 Pac-10 titles. Venegas has been selected by USA T& F to serve as the U. S. men's throwing events coach for the upcoming 2003 Pan American Games in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Aug. 3-10).

This weekend (March 7-8), selected members of the Bruin men's team are competing at a last chance indoor meet in Seattle, WA, hoping to improve or establish qualifying marks for the upcoming 2003 NCAA Indoor T & F Championships, held March 14-15 in Fayetteville, AR and hosted by the University of Arkansas.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS