Savage Earns Win No. 100 as Bruins Roll Over UC Irvine, 11-1

May 10, 2005

Box Score

IRVINE, Calif. - First-year UCLA Head Coach John Savage notched his 100th career victory in ironic fashion Tuesday evening as the Bruins rolled over Savage's former school, UC Irvine, 11-1 at Anteater Ballpark. In the head coach's first return to the school he coached from 2002-2004, his Bruin squad erupted for its highest run total in over two months while right fielder Chris Jensen extended his hitting streak to 16 games with a monsterous 4-for-5 day the plate, including his fourth home run of the season.

The Bruins (12-33) also defeated the Anteaters (25-21), 3-1 back on April 26 at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Bruin catcher Chris Denove added a 2-for-4 day at the plate with three RBI. Jensen finished with three RBI as well. Josh Roenicke, Brett McMillan and Will Penniall each also contributed two hits for UCLA in the win.

Left-hander Paul Oseguera earned his first collegiate win in his third career start, allowing one run on six hits over five innings of work while striking out three. Oseguera allowed just one run in the first inning and then, with the aid of relievers Adam Simon and Brian Schroeder, proceeded to blank the Anteaters over the final eight innings. UC Irvine's Justin Cassel (7-3) suffered the defeat.

Savage is in his fourth year as a head coach and has a career record of 100-117-1.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS