16th-Ranked Women's Track Team Heads to Tyson Invitational in Arkansas

Feb. 8, 2006

The 16th-ranked UCLA women's track and field team will head to Fayetteville, AR and the Tyson Indoor Invitational this weekend, beginning on Friday, Feb. 10 through Saturday, Feb. 11. The meet, which is held at the location for the NCAA Indoor Championships next month, will feature some of the top track programs in the country, as well as numerous professional athletes.

Five-time All-American Dawn Harper will open up her indoor season at the Tyson Invite this weekend. Harper had a successful indoor season in 2005, earning All-American honors with her third-place finish in the 60mH (8.05) at the NCAA Indoor Championships. Harper, ranked fourth in the nation by Trackwire's "Dandy Dozen," will certainly contend for her first NCAA title this season.

The women's Distance Medley Relay team will also return to action this weekend, having taken a week off after posting the 11th-fastest time in the nation in Seattle (11:23.05). The DMR team will look to improve on their NCAA provisional qualifying time and move up in the national rankings this weekend.

Kamaiya Warren, who has the fourth-longest throw in the country this season in the shot put (54-4.50), will also look to improve on her provisional qualifier. Last week, Warren improved on her indoor lifetime-best by over a foot and is just over a foot shy of the automatic standard for Nationals.

All-American Ashley Caldwell will return to competition after taking a week off as she competes in the mile. Jenna Timinsky (800m), Shantae McKinney (800m), Allison Hall (mile), Gabrielle Bournes (800m) and Alice Bohannon (800m) will also compete.

All-American Renee Williams will compete in the long jump, along with Leslie Rychel (LJ), Allison Miller (HJ), Kathleen Mahony (HJ), De'Lana Minnis (LJ/TJ) and Lauren Correa (HJ).

Chanelle Curry is slated to run the 400m.

Chelsea Johnson, who is tied for second nationally in the pole vault with a best mark of 13-11.25, will not compete this weekend.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 13 - All Day PST
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS