Chappell Ties for Third at Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

Aug. 4, 2006

UCLA junior Kevin Chappell tied for third place at the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship Friday, held at the historic Olympic Club near San Francisco.

Chappell posted rounds of 71-70-73-73--287 (+5) and tied with Cameron Tringale of San Juan Capistrano. Patrick Nagle of Pacifica won the tournament with a 72-hole total of 285 (+3).

Senior Chris Heintz tied for 23rd at 11-over par 293 after carding rounds of 71-75-72-75.

In other UCLA golf news, Head Coach O.D. Vincent led the USA men's team to victory over China last weekend in the inaugural USA-China Friendship Cup at Oak Valley Golf Club in Beaumont. The U.S. won 25.5-10.5 in a men's and women's event. Dan Brooks of Duke coached the U.S. women's team.

Sophomore Erik Flores tied for 13th at the 104th Western Amateur Championship on Aug. 4, held at Point O'Woods Golf & CC in Benton Harbor, Mich.

Flores posted rounds of 72-73-69--214 (+4) and advanced to the weekend's match play draw. The tournament's stroke play competition was shortened to 54 holes following inclement weather on Thursday.

For complete results of the Pacific Coast Amateur, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS