NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Eight Bruins Earn All-American Honors, Kern Named Player of the Year

Dec. 21, 2000

LOS ANGELES, Calif. -- Post-season accolades continue to roll in for the 2000 NCAA men's water polo champion UCLA Bruins, as eight Bruins earned All-American honors and senior Sean Kern was named the Player of the Year, the American Water Polo Coaches Association announced today. The Bruins' three first-team nods, and eight overall, are the most of any school. USC was second with five players.

Kern (Honolulu, Hawaii/ Punahou HS) capped an incredible 2000 by being named Player of the Year for the second straight year. Earlier this week, Kern won the Peter J. Cutino Award, water polo's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, for the second year. The 2000 MPSF Player of the Year missed the first nine games of the 2000 season to compete with the US Olympic Team in Sydney, Australia. Kern is a four-time All-American, earning first-team honors twice. He was named to the NCAA and MPSF All-Tournament teams, earning NCAA Tournament MVP honors for the second time. In 17 games this season, he had 33 goals and finished his illustrious career with 180 points.

Senior Brian Brown (Santa Ana, CA/Foothill HS) joins Kern on the first team. The Bruins' leading scorer with 43 goals was named to the NCAA and MPSF All-Tournament teams. He scored four goals in the 6-5 win over California in the championship game of the MPSF tournament and had five goals in two games in the NCAA Tournament. Brown earned second-team All-MPSF honors. This is the second All-American selection for Brown, having earned honorable mention honors last year.

Sophomore goalkeeper Brandon Brooks (Honolulu, HI/Punahou HS) rounds out the Bruins on the first team. Brooks made 11 saves and allowed only one goal in 25 minutes of play in the NCAA Championship game. He was a second team All-MPSF selection, allowing only 4.80 goals per game this season. He made 208 saves in 26 games, and led the team in steals with 35. Brooks is a repeat All-American selection, earning honorable mention honors last season.

Senior Andy Bailey (San Clemente, CA/San Clemente HS) earned his first All-American award, being named to the third team. The defender was an integral part of the UCLA defense that allowed less than five goals per game this season. He earned third team All-MPSF honors and was second on the team in steals. This year he scored a career-high 24 goals.

Four Bruins were named honorable mention All-Americans. Adam Wright (Seal Beach, Calif./Wilson HS) earned honorable mention All-America honors this season, the fourth All-America selection of his career. Despite only playing in 18 games, Wright was second on the team in scoring with 39 goals and 28 assists. Wright earned second team All-MPSF honors and was named MPSF Player of the Week after scoring three goals and two assists to lead UCLA over USC, 6-5, in the final regular season game.

Senior Dave Parker (Orinda, CA/Miramonte HS) earns the first All-American honors of his career. The third team All-MPSF selection scored 28 goals this season and was named to the NCAA All-Tournament second team. He led the team in earned ejections and scored goals in 11 of UCLA's last 13 games.

Senior Blake Wellen (Mill Valley, CA/Tamalpais) earned an honorable mention nod after earning NCAA All-Tournament second team honors earlier this year. The defender was an important member of the UCLA defense and led the team in field saves. He had 20 steals, third on the team, and scored three goals in the NCAA Tournament. It is the second time that Wellen has earned honorable mention All-American honors.

Finally, sophomore Matt Flesher (Diamond Bar, CA/ Brea Olinda HS) was the fourth leading scorer on the team with 32 goals. The attacker started the first 10 games of the season and the last eight, and scored goals in 20 of UCLA's 26 games, including eight multi-goal games. He had 11 goals in UCLA's final four regular season games, including two against USC in the 6-5 regular season finale victory.


Player of the Year: Sean Kern, UCLA
Coach of the Year: Denny Harper, UC San Diego

First Team
Sean Kern, UCLA
Brandon Brooks, Goalie, UCLA
Brian Brown, UCLA
Jerry Smith, California
Chris Segesman, Long Beach State
Jeff Powers, UC Irvine
George Csaszar, USC

Second Team
Nick Ellis, Goalie, Stanford
Dan Klatt, UC Irvine
Sean Foster, Navy
Peter Hudnut, Stanford
Jonathan Samuels, UC San Diego
Greg Lonzo, Pepperdine
Ivan Babic, USC

Third Team
Andy Bailey, UCLA
Michael Soltis, Goalie, Pepperdine
Roland Manyai, St. Francis College
Eldad Hazor, California
Stever O'Rourke, USC
Kevin Foster, Princeton
Kevin Witt, Loyola Marymount

Honorable Mention Team
Adam Wright, UCLA
Blake Wellen, UCLA
Dave Parker, UCLA
Matt Flesher, UCLA
Dan Hipp, Goalie, UC Irvine
Nick Hill, Goalie, Navy
Charles Toth, Goalie, Air Force
Andre Pedroni, Cal Baptist
Billy Mulcrone, Iona
Sean Hylton, Pepperdine
Burak Incecam, Queens College
Ali Gozluk, St. Francis College
Attila Banhidy, California
Tony Grosso, UC Irvine
Jason Boettner, UC San Diego
Justin Wylie, UC San Diego
Pedrag Damjanov, USC
Tim Wollthan, USC
Edward Wisniewski, Pacific
Chris Lund, Pacific
Carlos Ramos, Massachusetts
Mike Foley, Massachusetts

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events