Don't have an account? Click Here

UCLA's Art Venegas Earns Mondo Indoor T & F Regional Men's Coaching Honor
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  03/12/2003

March 12, 2003

UCLA men's head track & field coach Art Venegas and 17 other NCAA Div. I track & field coaches have been named Mondo Indoor Regional Coaches of the Year in voting by their peers, the Div. I Coaches Association of the U.S. Track Coaches Assn. announced Wednesday (March 12).

It's the second coaching honor Venegas has picked up during this indoor season. For the second year in a row, Venegas was also named the 2003 MPSF Men's Indoor Coach of the Year for leading the Bruins to the MPSF team championship.

Each will be honored Thursday night (March 13) at the coaches' banquet held prior to the NCAA Division I indoor track and field championships at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. Men's and women's Mondo National Coaches of the Year for indoor track will be named next week.

Men's regional coaches of the year, by region, are:

  • Nathan Taylor, Cornell (Northeast region), whose team won the Heps for the first time in 25 years with a win in the meet's final event;

  • Harry Groves, Penn State (Mid-Atlantic), whose team won its sixth IC4A title and is ranked 15th in the final team power rankings;

  • John Weaver, Appalachian State (Southeast), whose team won the Southern Conference for the third time in the last four years;

  • Terry Long, Florida State (South), whose team won the Atlantic Coast Conference title for the first time since 1994;

  • Leroy Burrell, Houston (South Central), who was named Conference USA men's and women's coach of the year after both teams won C-USA titles;

  • Ed Nuttycombe, Wisconsin (Great Lakes), five-time Big Ten coach of the year whose young team was 13th in the power rankings and was a surprise Big Ten winner;

  • Phil Lundin, Minnesota (Midwest), whose team was ranked first in the final indoor power rankings and finished 2 points behind Big Ten champ Wisconsin;

  • Ron Mann, Northern Arizona (Mountain), whose team won the Big Sky Conference for the first time since 2000; and

  • Art Venegas, UCLA (West), the Mountain Pacific Coach of the Year whose team won the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation title.

    Women's regional indoor coaches of the year are:

  • Sherman Hart, Northeastern (Northeast region), whose team won the America East Conference and the New England Championships and was second in the ECAC;

  • Beth Alford-Sullivan, Penn State (Mid-Atlantic), whose team was third in the Big Ten and 11th in the final team power rankings;

  • Dennis Craddock, North Carolina (Southeast), 10-time Atlantic Coast Conference coach of the year whose team won its 10th ACC title in 11 years and is third in the final team power rankings;

  • Amy Deem, Miami (South), whose team won its first Big East indoor championship and is ranked 22nd in the final team power rankings;

  • Lance Harter, Arkansas (South Central), whose seventh-ranked team won the SEC title by more than 20 points;

  • James Henry, Michigan (Great Lakes), whose sixth rated team won the five-time Big Coach of the Year his third straight indoor title;

  • Ron Boyce, Southwest Missouri State (Midwest), the Missouri Valley Conference coach of the year whose team won its fourth MVC crown in six years;

  • Curt Kraft, Nevada (Mountain), whose team won the Western Athletic Conference-the school's first WAC title in any sport-and is 17th in the final power rankings; and

  • Vin Lananna, Stanford (West), whose team won the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation title by 30 points.

  • ‹ UCLA Track & Field

    *UCLA 2015 #1 Football Jersey - Blue 
    Price: $65.00
    UCLA Football Poster Signed By Eric Kendricks Current: $200