Venegas Named Indoor Coach of the Year

March 1, 2002

Los Angeles - UCLA head men's track & field coach Art Venegas was named the 2002 MPSF Men's Coach of the Year Friday. Venegas, with the UCLA track and field program for 21 years all told, is currently in his third year as head coach of the Bruins' men's team.

Venegas, known as the preeminent throws coach in the nation, guided the UCLA men to the 2002 MPSF Indoor Track and Field Championships at Northern Arizona University, where the Bruins scored 132 points to edge runner-up WASHINGTON STATE by 15 points. The UCLA men won the 200m, the mile, the 1600m relay, the long jump and the 35-lb. weight throw, while racking second-place finishes in the triple jump, the shot and the distance medley relay. Venegas, a throws coach by trade, saw his prot?g? Scott Moser win the weight throw with almost a four-foot margin, while Scott Wiegand and Dan Ames placed 2-3 in the shot.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS