Tara Henry's RBI Single Completes UCLA Comeback as Bruins Defeat Fullerton, 4-3

March 30, 2004

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - UCLA freshman left fielder Tara Henry completed the UCLA comeback to defeat Cal State Fullerton (11-20) on Tuesday afternoon at Easton Stadium. The Bruins (27-1) had trailed 3-0 after one and a half innings, but used a two-run home run by Emily Zaplatosch and a solo shot by Stephanie Ramos to tie the game before Henry provided the game-winning RBI in the 4-3 win.

In the bottom of the first inning, the Bruins led off with Caitlin Benyi drawing a walk. She advanced to second base on a successful sacrifice bunt by Andrea Duran and went to third on a Texas-Leaguer to shallow right field hit by Stephanie Ramos, giving the Bruins runners on the corners with one out. Unfortunately, Benyi was unable to advance further, as the game remained scoreless after one complete inning.

Cal State Fullerton opened the scoring in the top of the second inning, thanks to a pair of Bruin errors behind pitcher Lisa Dodd. The rally started with two outs, as Jennifer Holt reached on a fielders choice and advanced to second when xx Wheeler reached base on a UCLA error. Brooke Weekley followed with a single to left field to load the bases, before Julie Watson hit a weak ground ball that was mis-handled on the toss to the plate for the force out. The ball then got away from Bruin catcher Emily Zaplatosch, allowing a second run to score.

Monica Tantlinger followed with a single to left field that scored Weekley from third base, but Tara Henry was able to gun down Watson at the plate for the third out of the inning with the Titans leading 3-0.

In the bottom of the fourth, Claire Sua led off the inning by drawing a walk, and was replaced by pinch runner Amanda Simpson. Simpson advanced to second base on a successful sacrifice bunt by Jodie Legaspi, and came around to score on the fifth home run of the season by sophomore catcher Emily Zaplatosch, a shot the hit the roof of the batting cage in right center field. That shot brought the Bruins to within one run at 3-2.

With one out in the bottom of the fifth inning, Stephanie Ramos tied the game at 3-3 with her ninth home run of the season, bouncing the ball off the top of the fence beyond the outfield wall. With two outs, Titan pitcher Brooke Weekley issued back-to-back walks to Jodie Legaspi and Emily Zaplatosch before being replaced by Candice Baker, who issued a full-count walk to Lisa Dodd before Kristen Dedmon fouled out to end the inning and the threat to take the lead.

In the circle, Dodd recovered nicely from Cal State Fullerton's three-run second inning, as she retired 14 of the next 16 batters she faced and did not allow a hit. Dodd finished the game with seven strikeouts and just one walk for her 11th win of the season.

The Bruins loaded the bases with one out in the bottom of the seventh inning on walks by Emily Zaplatosch, who was replaced by pinch-runner Alissa Eno, and Lisa Dodd. Kristen Dedmon then singled through the left side to load the bases for left fielder Tara Henry. Henry worked to a 3-0 count and looked at a high strike before fouling off a pitch to work the count full. Henry then came through with the game-winning RBI as she chopped the next pitch over the head of Cal State Fullerton's Carolyn Bullard at third base, scoring Eno and ending the game with a 4-3 UCLA win.

UCLA returns to action this weekend with its first Pac-10 games of the 2004 season. The Bruins travel first to Arizona State's Farrington Stadium for a 6 pm (Pacific Time) first pitch against the Sun Devils before traveling down to Tucson, AZ, for Saturday and Sunday games against Arizona. Sunday's game will air live on College Sports TV at 1 pm Pacific Time.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS