Baseball Hosts California in Pac-10 Weekend Series

April 3, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week:
April 4, vs. California, 6:00 p.m., Jackie Robinson Stadium*
RHP Matt Brown (2-3) vs. LHP Mike Kunes (4-1)
April 5, vs. California, 1:00 p.m., Jackie Robinson Stadium*
RHP Brian Montalbo (3-2) vs. LHP Wes Whisler (3-4)
April 6, vs. California, 1:00 p.m., Jackie Robinson Stadium*
RHP Kyle Crist (2-1) vs. RHP Casey Janssen (3-3) Tentative Lineup
1B Wes Whisler (6-5, 227, L/L, So.) Tied for team lead with 37 hits.
2B Preston Griffin (5-11, 184, R/R, Jr.) Set new career-high w/6 RBI vs. UCR.
SS Kevin Conlin (6-3, 200, R/R, So.) Hit two doubles vs. Wichita St. (3/22)
3B Brandon Averill (6-4, 200, R/R, Jr.) Hit three home runs in Arizona series.
LF Sean Carpenter (6-0, 165, R/R, Fr.) Career-high 4 RBI vs. Wichita St. (3/23)
CF Matt Thayer (5-10, 173, R/L, So.) Team-high eight stolen bases.
RF Billy Susdorf (6-1, 200, R/R, So.) Leads UCLA with six home runs.
C Chris Denove (6-1, 195, R/R, Fr.) Tied for team lead with 37 hits.
DH Brett McMillan (6-5, 210, L/R, Fr.) Team-high .356 batting average.
P Mike Kunes (6-2 1/2, 215, L/L, Sr.) Four wins is tops among Bruins.
P Wes Whisler (6-5, 227, L/L, So.) Season-high 7 innings vs. Ariz. (3/29)
P Casey Janssen (6-3, 185, R/R, Jr.) Second on team with 32 strikeouts.

Bruin Baseball On The Air:
UCLA's Pacific-10 conference games will be live internet broadcast at www.uclabruins.com. Tony Luftman will bring you the action along with guest color commentators, including Craig Duncan and former Bruin pitcher Tim Leary.

Bruins Take First Pac-10 Series of the Season, 2-1 From Arizona:
Brandon Averill hit three home runs and drove in a team-high eight RBI over the weekend to give UCLA a 2-1 series victory (W, 6-4, W, 7-5, L, 12-10) over #17 Arizona.

In Friday's win, Averill hit a two-run homer in the bottom of the seventh inning that would prove to be the difference in the game. Reliever Doug Silva shut down the Wildcats in the late innings, allowing only two hits in the final five frames.

The Bruins jumped out to an early lead, posting six runs in the first five innings. Billy Susdorf led UCLA with three hits and two RBI, while hitting his team leading sixth home run of 2003. Starter Wes Whisler picked up his third win of the season, allowing one run on two hits in seven innings of action.

UCLA was unable to complete the sweep with a 12-10 loss in Sunday's slugfest. Despite outhitting Arizona (14-12), five errors allowed seven unearned runs to cross the plate. Averill recorded his first multiple home run performance of the year, which included a three run homer in the bottom of the ninth.

About California...
The Golden Bears enter the weekend with a 18-13 record after taking two out of three at Oregon State last weekend. California opened its Pac-10 season with a series victory (2-1) over Washington State.

Head Coach David Esquer is in his 4th year as the head coach of the Golden Bears and holds a 88-80 mark at California coming into the 2003 season. In the series, UCLA holds a 90-68 advantage over the Golden Bears, with a 55-27 record at home.

Top Players
Chris Grossman (Jr., C) .345, 5 HR, 38 RBI - Alamo, CA (Monte Vista HS)
Conor Jackson (Jr., INF) .314, 4 HR, 19 RBI, - Woodlnad Hills, CA (El Camino Real HS)
Allen Craig (Fr., INF) .324, 2 HR, 15 RBI - Temecula, CA (Chaparral HS)
James Holder (So., INF) .302, 4 HR, 20 RBI - Atherton, CA (Bellarmine Prep)
Brian Horowitz (Jr., OF) .293, 5 HR, 25 RBI - Encino, HS (Crespi HS)

Starting Pitchers
Matt Brown (Jr., RHP) 5.44 ERA, 2-3 - Danville, CA (San Ramon Valley HS)
Brian Montalbo (Jr., RHP) 5.84 ERA, 3-2 - Anchorage, AK (Diamond HS)
Kyle Crist (So., RHP) 3.89 ERA, 2-1 - Roseville, CA (Granite Bay HS)


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS