Johnson, Caldwell and Leach Advance at NCAA Championships

June 8, 2006

Senior Chelsea Johnson, junior Ashley Caldwell and freshman Nicole Leach each advanced in their respective events at the NCAA Track& Field Championships in Sacramento, CA on Thursday to highlight the Bruin competitors.

Johnson cleared the first hurdle in regaining her NCAA outdoor pole vault title on Thursday, automatically qualifying for Saturday's final with a clearance of 13-5.25. Johnson passed on the first three heights (12-3.50, 12-9.50, 13-1.50) and then cleared automatic mark on her first jump.

Leach advanced to Friday's semifinal in the 400m hurdles after unning 56.61 for the second-fastest time of the day (won heat two).

Caldwell ran a lifetime-best in the semifinal of the 1500m to advance to Saturday's final. Caldwell's time of 4:20.15 was the sixth-fastest time in heat one and 11th overall.

Freshman Rhonda Watkins fell short in her first chance for All-American honors after finishing 11th in the long jump final with a mark of 20-5. Watkins could still earn honors in the high jump on Friday.

The 4x400m relay team of junior MacKenzie Hill, freshman Krystin Lacy, sophomore DeShanta Harris and freshman Chanelle Curry placed fifth in heat two and 20th overall, running 3:43.25.

Looking Ahead
Sophomore Renee Williams will compete in the triple jump qualifying at 1:00 pm, while Watkins will go for her second All-American honor on Friday in the high jump final at 3:45 pm. In running events, senior Dawn Harper will go for her seventh and final All-American honor in the 100m hurdles (5:00 pm), while Leach will run in the 400m hurdle semifinal at 6:10 pm.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Friday, Mar 11
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Saturday, May 28 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Wednesday, Jun 08 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jun 09 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Friday, Jun 10 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Jun 11 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS