Men's Soccer Team Shuts Out U.S. U-18 National Team, 4-0

March 5, 2002

Chula Vista, Calif. - The UCLA men's soccer team shut out the U.S. Under-18 National Team, 4-0, in a spring scrimmage at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista.

The Bruin offense was sharp from the get-go, scoring three first-half goals. Jimmy Frazelle scored his second goal of the spring season, with an assist going to Adolfo Gregorio. Ryan Futagaki added his second spring goal, unassisted. Cliff McKinley made it 3-0 Bruins before halftime, as Gregorio assisted on the play. In the second half, strong defensive pressure from Frazelle in the penalty box forced an own goal that accounted for the final score of the game.

Goalkeeper Zach Wells earned his second shutout of the spring.

"Traveling down to San Diego and facing the Under-18s was a good challenge for us," said UCLA assistant coach Jorge Salcedo. "We started a bit slow the first few minutes, but as the first half went on, we kept possession of the ball and attacked all parts of the field. All three goals in the first half were well taken, and this result adds to a good start to the pre-season. Our goal has been to improve game-by-game, and with this game we felt we did that."

The Bruins' next game will be Friday, Mar. 8 at UC San Diego in LaJolla. UCLA will play UCSD at 12:30 pm and the University of San Diego at 2:00 pm.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Oct 16
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Monday, Oct 19
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Oct 23
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
T, 2 - 2
Sunday, Oct 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Nov 01
at Akron
Akron, OH
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Nov 08
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Nov 14
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 0
Sunday, Nov 22
at Seattle
Seattle, WA
L, 0 - 1