Men's Soccer Team Shuts Out U.S. U-18 National Team, 4-0

March 5, 2002

Chula Vista, Calif. - The UCLA men's soccer team shut out the U.S. Under-18 National Team, 4-0, in a spring scrimmage at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista.

The Bruin offense was sharp from the get-go, scoring three first-half goals. Jimmy Frazelle scored his second goal of the spring season, with an assist going to Adolfo Gregorio. Ryan Futagaki added his second spring goal, unassisted. Cliff McKinley made it 3-0 Bruins before halftime, as Gregorio assisted on the play. In the second half, strong defensive pressure from Frazelle in the penalty box forced an own goal that accounted for the final score of the game.

Goalkeeper Zach Wells earned his second shutout of the spring.

"Traveling down to San Diego and facing the Under-18s was a good challenge for us," said UCLA assistant coach Jorge Salcedo. "We started a bit slow the first few minutes, but as the first half went on, we kept possession of the ball and attacked all parts of the field. All three goals in the first half were well taken, and this result adds to a good start to the pre-season. Our goal has been to improve game-by-game, and with this game we felt we did that."

The Bruins' next game will be Friday, Mar. 8 at UC San Diego in LaJolla. UCLA will play UCSD at 12:30 pm and the University of San Diego at 2:00 pm.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04 - 4:00 PM PST
at Maryland
College Park, MD
Monday, Sep 07 - 10:00 AM PST
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Sep 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 1:30 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Sunday, Oct 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS