Lauren Cook Earns Multiple Awards Following MVP Performance

Sept. 14, 2009

Freshman setter Lauren Cook received a pair of awards on Monday after her MVP performance at last weekend's Ameritas Players Challenge, earning Pacific-10 Conference Player of the Week and UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week honors.

Cook helped the eighth-ranked Bruins to a 3-0 weekend, including a victory on Sunday over #5 Nebraska that snapped the Huskers' 90-match home winning streak in front of an NCAA regular season-record crowd 13,870.

On Thursday against BYU, the Bruins won in four, as Cook posted her first career double-double. The freshman had 43 assists and 14 digs, adding four kills against the Cougars. On Friday in a four-set win against Virginia, Cook had another double-double, recording 44 assists and 15 digs, setting the Bruins to a .315 hitting percentage. She also chipped in six kills and no errors in 10 attempts for a .600 hitting percentage.

On Sunday, Cook and the Bruins faced Nebraska in front of a capacity and record crowd at the Devaney Sports Center. Cook, a native of Lincoln, Neb. and daughter of Nebraska head coach John Cook, helped UCLA snap the Huskers' 90-match home winning streak in the thrilling, five-set victory. The freshman posted her third straight double-double, notching 48 assists and 15 digs. She added five kills and no errors for the second straight match on nine attacks for a .556 hitting percentage.

For the weekend, Cook averaged 10.38 assists, 3.38 digs and 1.15 kills per set, hitting at a .519 clip with only one error. On the season, she is third on the team in digs at 2.42, leading the squad with 10.32 assists per set and a remarkable .519 hitting percentage.

This is Cook's first Pac-10 POW and UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and of her career. It is the 59th Pac-10 Player of the Week award in UCLA history.

The Bruins, who moved up to seventh in this week's AVCA Top 25 poll, face #25 Pepperdine in Malibu on Wednesday at 7 p.m. Live audio will be available at UCLABruins.com.

Also nominated for UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week Award: Reggie Carter, Football; Cole Consani, M. Water Polo; Chandler Hoffman, M. Soccer; Kristina Larsen, W. Soccer.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS