Richards in 2nd-Place After Day One of RJ/JJK Invite Heptathlon Competition

April 12, 2007

Complete Results

Day one results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Heptathlon results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Junior Georgea Richards scored a UCLA-best first day point total of 3,086 points on day one of the inaugural Rafer Johnson/Jackie Joyner-Kersee Invitational heptathlon competition as she posted three season-best marks and one lifetime-best mark in four events.

Richards opened the day up with a season-best run in the hurdles of 14.10 (964 points). She then equaled her lifetime-best in the high jump with a mark of 5-1.25 (689 points). In the third event, the shot put, Richards threw a season-best 33-10 (550 points) and then ended the day with a season-best run in the 200m of 25.04 (883 points) for a final first day score of 3,086 points.

Richards will complete the heptathlon on Friday as she competes in the long jump, javelin and 800m.

In the hammer, former All-American and current volunteer throws coach Jessica Cosby unleashed a throw of 224-2. The mark set a new stadium and meet record and is one of the top-20 marks in the world this year. It is also one of the top U.S. marks so far this season.

Another former Bruin All-American, Cari Soong, placed third with a mark of 201-8.

Competition continues on Friday with the open/college events and a distance carnival in the evening.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS