No. 7 UCLA Baseball Registers 12-3 Win Against Washington State

March 24, 2012

Box Score | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader | 2012 UCLA Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - Beau Amaral went 5-for-6 with two doubles, and the No. 7 UCLA baseball team used a six-run sixth inning to defeat Washington State, 12-3, clinching a Pac-12 series victory Saturday afternoon at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Amaral totaled a career-high five hits and scored three runs, and Jeff Gelalich belted his team-leading fifth home run in the Bruins' six-run inning.

Gelalich went 2-for-3 with two RBI and two runs as UCLA (17-4, 4-1 Pac-12) pounded out 16 hits in its third consecutive win.

Tyler Heineman went 2-for-3 with one triple, one double, two runs and three RBI.

UCLA, which has won 15 of its last 16 games, trailed 3-1 entering the bottom of the fifth inning. The Bruins scored one run in the fifth and claimed an 8-3 cushion with a six-run sixth inning against Washington State (10-10, 1-4).

David Berg (3-0) secured the victory in relief for UCLA (17-4, 4-1 Pac-12), which has won 15 of its last 16 games. Berg allowed one hit in 1.1 scoreless innings, escaping a bases-loaded jam with two outs in the top of the sixth inning and UCLA trailing Washington State, 3-2.

Richie Ochoa (0-1) absorbed the loss, pitching in relief for Washington State. He allowed five runs and six hits in two-thirds of an inning. Joe Pistorese allowed two runs (one earned) and five hits in 4.1 innings as the Cougars' starter, striking out two batters and walking six.

UCLA scored six runs in the sixth inning with two outs. Trailing 3-2, the Bruins' rally began with a one-out double by Eric Filia-Snyder singled up the middle before Gelalich belted a towering home run to right field that bounced off the top of the hitting facility.

Washington State led, 1-0, on Tommy Richards solo home run in the second inning. UCLA tied the game, 1-1, in the bottom of the fourth when Valaika lined a run-scoring double to center field, sending home Cody Regis.

The Cougars regained the lead with two runs in the top of the fifth. With two outs, Derek Jones lifted a bloop single to center field, scoring Nate Blackham and Collin Slaybaugh.

UCLA returns to action against Washington State on Sunday, March 25. Game time of the series finale at Jackie Robinson Stadium is 1 p.m.

Game Notes: UCLA has gone 15-1 since opening the season with a 2-3 record ... the Bruins have won six of their last eight games against Washington State ... Beau Amaral became the first UCLA hitter to record five hits in a game since Gino Aielli went 5-for-5 against Cal State Bakersfield on May 5, 2009 ... UCLA has won each of its last five three-game weekend series ... Beau Amaral and Trevor Brown extended their hitting streaks to six games ... Jeff Gelalich has reached base safely in all 21 games ... with rain in the forecast in the Los Angeles area on Sunday, should the UCLA-WSU game be postponed on Sunday, the two teams would play on Monday at 1 p.m.



EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS