UCLA Baseball's Rob Rasmussen Named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week

April 13, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Sophomore left-hander Rob Rasmussen of the UCLA baseball team has earned Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors for the first time in his career, as announced Monday by the Pac-10 Conference office. Rasmussen went 1-0 with one save and eight strikeouts in two relief appearances for the Bruins last week.

The southpaw from Arcadia, Calif., earned the victory in relief Tuesday against No. 5 UC Irvine, allowing one run and three hits in three innings while collecting three strikeouts and no walks. Four days later, Rasmussen allowed one hit in three scoreless innings of relief at Stanford to notch his first career save. Against the Cardinal, he registered five strikeouts in the final three frames as UCLA earned an 8-5 victory.

In his last four outings (all relief appearances), Rasmussen has logged 17 strikeouts in 10.1 innings, surrendering just two runs and seven hits. The left-hander has limited the opposition to a .194 batting average in that span, posting a 1.74 ERA.

Rasmussen's selection as Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week marks the fourth time this spring in which a UCLA ballplayer has gained Pac-10 Pitcher or Player of the Week honors. Previous honorees have included right-handed pitcher Trevor Bauer (March 31) and infielders Casey Haerther (March 24) and Cody Decker (March 17).

UCLA returns to action at No. 15 San Diego State on Tuesday. Game time at Tony Gwynn Stadium is 6 p.m.

Also nominated: Josh Spence (ASU), Jorge Reyes (OSU), Brett Mooneyham (STAN), Robert Stock (USC), Geoff Brown (WASH).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS