UCLA Baseball Takes Series at USC With 17-2 Victory

March 23, 2009

Box Score (HTML) | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - Third baseman Casey Haerther went 4-for-4 with a three-run homer, three runs and three RBI to lead the UCLA baseball team past USC, 17-2, Monday evening at Dedeaux Field. The Bruins set a school record for margin of victory in the all-time series against USC, eclipsing the previous 14-run margin set on May 17, 1955, when the Bruins upended the Trojans, 18-4.

Right-hander Charles Brewer (1-2) earned the victory, limiting the Trojans to two runs and six hits in 6.1 innings while logging seven strikeouts. USC right-hander Kevin Couture (3-2) was tagged with the loss, surrendering six runs (four earned) and five hits in 2.1 innings.

The 2-games-to-1 series victory over USC helped UCLA acquire five points in the annual Lexus Gauntlet Challenge, an annual multi-sport competition between the crosstown rivals.

UCLA established several single-game season-highs on Monday with 17 runs, 16 hits, 13 RBI, four doubles and 26 total bases. Right fielder Justin Uribe contributed to the Bruins' RBI total, going 1-for-4 with a two-out grand slam and two runs scored. The Bruins also received multiple-hit efforts from shortstop Niko Gallego (2-for-5) and first baseman Cody Decker (2-for-4).

The Bruins opened the scoring with a six-run third inning and never looked back. UCLA raced to a 3-0 lead on a three-run blast to deep left-center field by Haerther. The Bruins followed with a one-out, two-RBI double down the left field line by Cohen before designated hitter Alex Weber-Shapiro scored from third base on a pass ball.

UCLA claimed a 13-0 lead with a seven-run fifth inning. The Bruins scored their first three runs of the inning on three singles and two errors by USC. Uribe followed with a two-out grand slam to right field on an eight-pitch at-bat, pushing the lead to 13-0.

The Bruins added one more run in each of the sixth and seventh innings before scoring one pair of runs in the top of the ninth.

Trailing 15-0 in the bottom of the seventh, USC scored two runs off two walks and three singles.

UCLA returns to action at No. 17 Pepperdine on Wednesday, March 25. Game time at Pepperdine's Eddy D. Field Stadium is 3 p.m. The Bruins will host a three-game Pac-10 series against Arizona beginning Friday, March 27 at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Game Notes: Third baseman Casey Haerther continued his fine junior campaign going 7-for-14 with two homers, eight RBI and five runs in three games at USC's Dedeaux Field...Haerther raised his batting average to a team-leading .393 mark...UCLA's logged its highest run total (17) since defeating UC Riverside at Jackie Robinson Stadium by an 18-7 tally on April 12, 2008...UCLA outscored USC, 32-11, in the three-game Pac-10 series...the Bruins have won nine of their last 12 games against USC...left-hander Matt Grace scattered two hits in 1.2 scoreless innings of relief...left-hander Gavin Brooks recorded three strikeouts and one walk in a hitless ninth inning of relief...redshirt freshman outfielder Marc Navarro recorded his first collegiate hit in the top of the eighth inning, lining a two-out single to right field off Ricky Oropesa.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS