Late Rally Falls Short as Bruin Softball Downed by Huskies, 8-6

April 7, 2007

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - Krista Colburn went 3-for-4 and Jodie Legaspi added a two-run homer, but 12th-ranked Washington scored seven times in the final two innings to hold off UCLA on Saturday afternoon, 8-6. The Bruins had the winning run at the plate in the bottom of the seventh but their last inning rally fell just short of success.

UW improves to 24-10, 2-3 Pac-10, while UCLA falls to 26-10, 2-3 Pac-10.

Washington got on the board first off UCLA starter Megan Langenfeld as UW starting pitcher Danielle Lawrie launched a solo homer in the top of the second for a 1-0 Husky lead.

UCLA answered with the tying run in the bottom of the third as Tara Henry drew a leadoff walk and came around to score on a Colburn double to left field. The Bruins took a 3-1 lead with two more runs in the fifth inning, getting a leadoff single by Colburn and a two-out, two-run homer by Legaspi.

UW opened the top of the sixth with back-to-back hits off Langenfeld before the Bruins went to the bullpen to being in Anjelica Selden. The Husky bats stayed hot, however, as UW welcomed Selden with two-straight hits to tie the game at 3-3. After catcher Alicia Mathews fanned for the first out of the inning, right fielder Lauren Greer crushed one over the center field wall to give UW a 6-3 lead. The Huskies added what proved to be two important insurance runs in the seventh inning off Selden, getting a two-RBI double by Dominique Lastrapes for an 8-3 margin.

UCLA rallied in the bottom of the seventh as Colburn and Lisa Dodd singles sandwiched around a walk to Jaisa Creps loaded the bases with no one out. The first pitch to Legaspi got past the catcher, but Colburn was thrown out at home plate for the first out of the inning. Legaspi was intentionally walked to reload the bases, but Langenfeld was hit by the first pitch she saw to score Creps and close the gap to 8-4.

That would end the day for Lawrie in the circle as Caitlin Noble entered in relief to face Kaila Shull, who snapped a 0-for-14 streak with a two-RBI single to right as UCLA crept closer at 8-6. Unfortunately, that would be as close as UCLA would get as Noble fanned Whitney Holum and Julie Burney to end the game.

Colburn tallied three of UCLA's seven hits on the afternoon while Legaspi and Shull each had two RBIs. UW leadoff hitter Ashley Charters also went 3-for-4 while Greer and Lastrapes had three RBIs apiece as UW collected 12 hits as a team.

Lawrie (15-6) earned the win for Washington, hurling 6 1/3 innings allowing six hits and six runs with six walks and five strikeouts. Noble picked up her first save of the year, allowing one hit and two strikeouts to the three batters she faced.

Selden (14-6) took the loss in relief for UCLA, allowing six hits and five runs (four earned) with no walks and two strikeouts in just one inning of work. Langenfeld scattered six hits and allowed three runs with no walks and four strikeouts in five-plus innings. Whitney Baker relieved Selden in the top of the seventh and retired all three batters she faced.

UCLA now hits the road for seven-straight games, starting with next weekend's road trip to Oregon State (Fri., April 13) and Oregon (April 14-15).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS