No. 10 Duke Upsets No. 8 UCLA, 4-2 at National Team Indoors

Feb. 17, 2012

Charlottesville, Va. - The eighth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team suffered its first loss of the season at the ITA National Team Indoor Championships on Friday afternoon, dropping a 4-2 first-round decision to No. 10 Duke at the Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va. The Bruins (8-1) now move to the consolation draw and will meet No. 16 Tennessee (4-4) on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. (PST). The Volunteers suffered a 4-0 loss to top-seeded USC.

Team Indoor Live Stats | Tournament Website

UCLA's Nick Meister and Adrien Puget picked up a huge victory for the Bruins in doubles on Friday, upsetting 13th-ranked Henrique Cunha and Fred Saba, 9-8 at court No. 1 to give UCLA the one point awarded for doubles play. In fact, all three doubles matches were decided by tiebreakers, with the Bruins taking a 9-8 win at court No. 2, followed by a 9-8 Duke victory at the No. 3 position.

Although doubles play was extremely close, the Blue Devils owned the better of singles play on Friday. UCLA's lone bright spot came at court No. 4, where Puget was able to post a 6-4, 6-3 victory over Saba. The win actually gave the Bruins a 2-0 lead in the match. Duke, however, reeled off four consecutive straight-set victories to take the match 4-2. The clinching point came down to a pair of freshmen battling at court No. 6, where Duke's Jason Tahir outlasted Dennis Mkrtchian, 6-4, 6-4.

The only match that didn't finish on Friday was at court No. 2, as Duke's Chris Mengel was up a set and leading 6-5 in the second over sophomore Clay Thompson when play was suspended.

Friday's first-round loss marked UCLA's earliest exit from main draw at the Indoors since 1998.

#10 Duke 4, #8 UCLA 2
ITA National Team Indoors (First Round)
Feb 17, 2012 at Charlottesville, VA (Boar's Head Sports Club)

Doubles
1. Meister/Puget (UCLA) def. #13 Cunha/Saba (DUKE) 9-8
2. Alex Brigham/Giron (UCLA) def. Chris Mengel/David Holland (DUKE) 9-8
3. Hemmeler/Wietoska (DUKE) def. Warren Hardie/Thompson (UCLA) 9-8
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles
1. #2 Henrique Cunha (DUKE) def. #39 Nick Meister (UCLA) 6-2, 6-4
2. #70 Clay Thompson (UCLA) vs. #17 Chris Mengel (DUKE) 5-7, 5-6, unfinished
3. Torsten Wietoska (DUKE) def. #108 Marcos Giron (UCLA) 7-5, 7-5
4. #104 Adrien Puget (UCLA) def. Fred Saba (DUKE) 6-4, 6-3
5. Raphael Hemmeler (DUKE) def. Maxime Tabatruong (UCLA) 7-6, 6-2
6. Jason Tahir (DUKE) def. Dennis Mkrtchian (UCLA) 6-4, 6-3

Match Notes
Duke 8-0; National ranking #10
UCLA 8-1; National ranking #8
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (4,1,5,3,6)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS