Danesha Adams Named UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week

Oct. 9, 2006

Junior forward Danesha Adams (Shaker Heights, Ohio/Shaker Heights HS) of the UCLA Women's Soccer team was selected as the UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week (Oct. 2-8).

Adams had two game-winning goals over the weekend, helping the fourth-ranked Bruins get off to a 2-0 start in the Pac-10 with wins over 10th-ranked California and Stanford. Against the Golden Bears on Friday, Adams broke up a 1-1 tie on a breakaway goal in the 40th minute, her fourth of the year. UCLA eventually went on to win, 4-1. With just 10 minutes remaining in a scoreless match against Stanford on Sunday, Adams netted her fifth goal of the season and third game-winner, propelling the Bruins to what eventually became a 2-0 victory. Adams, who has missed six matches this year while representing the U.S. in several international competitions, ranks second on the team in scoring with 10 points (5g, 0a).

This is Adams' second UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and sixth of her career.

Also nominated: Olga Aulet-Leon, W. Cross Country; Trey Brown, Football; Alex Crabil, M. Cross Country; Nana Meriwether, W. Volleyball; Sal Zizzo, M. Soccer.

Click here to view previous winners.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS